Site hosted by Build your free website today!



Form one is the basis of ancient sword fighting. As lightsabers replaced swords this form remained the main fighting style. It is based on the original principals of parry, attack, body target zones, and velocities (practice drills). Young padawans begin to learn lightsaber combat starting with Form 1.


Form two is based on lightsaber to lightsaber combat. Jedi who have have mastered this form have become some of the best dueling masters ever seen. In the Jedi Order this form is rarely practiced. It is rare for the enemy to fight with a lightsaber also. With the Sith resurging it is still rare for lightsaber to lightsaber combat. Because of this the Sith pratice Form 2 often giving them an edge against the Jedi. Form 2 was practiced by Count Dooku.


Form 3 came from the need to protect oneselve from blaster technology. It is a highly defensive form using movements that expose minimal target area and allow a Jedi to deflect blaster bolts. The movements used are tight, quick, and efficient. After the death of his master, Obi-Wan Kenobi turns to form 3. He switched his technique because he saw how insufficient Qui-Gon Jinn's defense was against Darth Maul.


Form four is heavily acrobatic. It allows Jedi to use the Force to enhance their abilities to run, jump, and spin. Form 4 masters can go beyond what is physically possible. They become a blur when moving so elaborately. Yoda is a Form 4 master. Obi-Wan Kenobi and Qui-Gon Jinn were Form 4 practitioners. Obi-Wan changed his practice, after fighting Darth Maul, to Form 3.


Form 5 utilizes Form 3. Jedi developed Form 5 when Form 3 became to passive. Form 5 is a defensive form that turns a deflected blaster bolt upon the opponent. This form uses power and strength in order to get its results. Many Jedi have described this form as "peace through superior firepower." Form 5 is a form that prepares a Jedi for any threat, some see Form 5 as a way for Jedi to inappropriately dominate others.


Form 6 is a form that combines forms 1 through 5. It utilizes these forms in moderation. This allows a Jedi to learn a little of everything and not focus on one individual form which may cause them to be overly trained. Form 6 allows Jedi to develope skills in perception, political strategy, and negotiation also. For their first few years of training, Jedi study Form 1. Then for the additional forms they want to learn they spend a year or two on each. To learn Form 6, trainees may spend up to 10 years learning all the forms required to fully utilize Form 6. Form 6 is well used for diplomatic situations, not for battle. During the Battle of Geonosis, all Form 6 Jedi Knights are killed.


Form 7 is only for the highest of Jedi Masters. It is extremely difficult to master because it demands all other forms. This form can lead to great power and skill though. Using strong, direct movements, more open and kinetic then Form 5, not as great in appearance as Form 4, and advanced Force assissted jumps and movements, a Jedi can overwhelm the opponent by becoming highly unpredictable. Being highly unpredictable is a hard skill to execute, requiring Form 5's intensity and more because of the broad focus. Form 7 allows one to master emotions. Form 7 is still in the developement stage because so few Jedi are able to master the form. Mace Windu is one of the only Jedi practicing Form 7 during the Battle of Geonosis.

JAA Internal Links

Subspace Communications

The Holoprojector
The Comlink

The Jedi Archives

Luke Skywalker
Kyp Durron
Kam Solusar
Dorsk 81
Tenel Ka
Kirana Ti
Nichos Marr
Anakin Solo
Jaina Solo
Jacen Solo
Mara Jade
Mace Windu
Adi Galli
Plo Koon
Saesee Tiin
Yarael Poof
Even Piel
Eeth Koth
Oppo Rancisis
Depa Bilaba

Sith Archives

Darth Vader
Emperor Palpatine

Temple Hall Of Knowledge

The Jedi Code
Cave of Knowledge
Lightsaber Combat
Jedi Marks of Combat

Nick's Reviews


Last Updated: March 4, 2003

View our disclaimer.Copyright © 2002-04 The Jedi Academy Archives