Site hosted by Build your free website today!
From left: A.Q. Porter, Eli Cupit, J.S. Burns, Emery Summers & O.T. Synnott. Masthead (c) 2003 David E. Godbold. USE BY PERMISSION ONLY.
Battles & Engagements
Biographies & Photos
A Brief Synopsis of the 33rd's History
1862 Chronology
1863 Chronology
1864 Chronology
1865 Chronology
Letters & Diaries
Original Officers
Rosters & Enlistment History

Click to view a larger version of the 33rd Mississippi Infantry flag

"We are a band of brothers, And native to the soil,
Fighting for the property we gained by honest toil;
And when our rights were threatened
the cry rose near and far:
Hurrah for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

"Hurrah! Hurrah! for Southern Rights hurrah! Hurrah! for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

---"The Bonnie Blue Flag" by Harry MaCarthy

All rights reserved. Duplication,
in whole or part,
via electronic or
print mode, without express written permission is

The first-named are the original officers elected April 17, 1862.


  • David Wiley Hurst (Co. K) -- resigned January 5, 1864

  • Jabez L. Drake (Co. F) -- killed at Peachtree Creek, GA July 20, 1864


  • William B. Johnson (Co. I) -- resigned July 16, 1863

  • Jabez L. Drake (Co. F)

  • John Harrod (Co. G) --- mortally wounded New Hope Church, GA May 31, 1864

  • Moses Jackson (Co. K)


  • Jabez L. Drake (Co. F)

  • John Harrod (Co. G)

  • Robert J. Hall (Co. F)


  • Thomas J. Jackson (Co. K) -- dropped March 1863

  • Anderson McCarty (Co. A)

  • William Burgess Wall (Co. I)


  • William B. Hoover (Co. E) -- dropped (no date)

Commissary Sergeant:

  • George F. Webb (Co. K)


  • Alfred F. Strawn (Co. K)


  • David W. Hurst, Jr. (Co. K)


  • Owen L. Conerly ( Co. E) -- killed at Franklin, TN

  • William M. Cope (Co. I) -- fell in battle

  • Edwin F. Leavell (Lovell) (Co. H) -- wounded/captured at Peachtree Creek, GA

1862 | 1863 | 1864 | 1865     Companies A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | K
Battles | Biographies | Casualties | History | Letters | Officers | Rosters | Links | Home
Contact Webmaster

Battle flag: Collection of the Old Capitol Museum of Mississippi History, Jackson, MS.

1999-2011 David E. Godbold