Site hosted by Build your free website today!
From left: A.Q. Porter, Eli Cupit, J.S. Burns, Emery Summers & O.T. Synnott. Masthead (c) 2003 David E. Godbold. USE BY PERMISSION ONLY.
Battles & Engagements
Biographies & Photos
A Brief Synopsis of the 33rd's History
1862 Chronology
1863 Chronology
1864 Chronology
1865 Chronology
Letters & Diaries
Original Officers
Rosters & Enlistment History

Click to view a larger version of the 33rd Mississippi Infantry flag








"We are a band of brothers, And native to the soil,
Fighting for the property we gained by honest toil;
And when our rights were threatened
the cry rose near and far:
Hurrah for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

"Hurrah! Hurrah! for Southern Rights hurrah! Hurrah! for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

---"The Bonnie Blue Flag" by Harry MaCarthy










All rights reserved. Duplication,
in whole or part,
via electronic or
print mode, without express written permission is

"Franklin Guards"
Co. D Franklin County

The "Franklin Guards" of Franklin County was organized on March 4, 1862. Kincheon R. Webb was Captain, with an original enrollment of 80 officers and men.

Captain Kincheon R. Webb
1st Lieutenant Lucien J. Scott
2nd Lieutenant John F. Lee
3rd Lieutenant David A. Herring
1st Sergeant William C. Costley
2nd Sergeant Samuel S. Montgomery
3rd Sergeant Thomas A. Herring
4th Sergeant John E. Cupit discharged by substitute (William M. Cupit)
5th Sergeant James H. Smith
1st Corporal Absalom B. Linder
2nd Corporal Lewis L. Magee
3rd Corporal Daniel C. Stanton
4th Corporal Isaac Newton Bedford
Company Commissary/Musician Thomas J. Scott


Adams, John Quincy

Ballard, Charles
Bonds, Alexander Hamilton
Buckley, Benjamin Henry
Buckley, Edward Alexander 4th Corporal
Buckley, John Witey
Burt, Isaac S. 3rd Corporal
Byrd, Duncan

Cain, James S.
Chapman, John
Cobb, James W.
Coleman, Daniel S.
Coleman, William D.
Corban, John Burnes
Crosby, Andrew Jackson
Crumpton, John A.
Crumpton, William H.
Cunningham, David Winfield
Cupit, Daniel G.
Cupit, Eli
Cupit, Joseph S.
Cupit, Seaborn L.
Cupit, William M. substitute for John E. Cupit

Day, Sanford G.
Dean, T. J. discharged
      by substitute (James Tarver)
DeLaughter, Thomas

East, Joel L. 3rd Sergeant
Erwin, Thomas E.
Ezell, James H.
Ezell, Param I.
Ezell, William R.

Frazier, Jackson
Freeman, John J.
Fuget, D.
Furr, Isaac Newton

Gill, George W.
Godbold, William S. 5th Sergeant
Goings, William T.

Hall, Isaac
Hall, James Fall
Hollinger, Lewis M.
Howard, Dudley M.
Huson, F. M.

Jackson, Gilbert E.
Jackson, William L.
Jones, William
Jones, William E.

Knapp, Ezra

Lambright, George S.
Laird, Victor E.
Lazarus, Edward P.
Lazarus, Nicholas
Lazarus, W. C.
Lewis, John
Lofton, Cyrus
Lofton, Guinn
Lofton, Thomas discharged by substitute
     (Thomas J. Rushing)

McCaa, Isaac N. - 4th Corporal
McCoy, James M.
McIntyre, Duncan
McIntyre, John D.
Middleton, G. W. Corporal
Miley, Thomas E.
Miley, William S.
Mitchell, Joseph B. (or P.)
Moore, Henry Pope
Moore, John W.
Moore, Willis A.
Mullins, William Madison

Newman, Patrick S. 5th Sergeant
Nobles, Felix
Nobles, Rufus T.

Osteen, John J.

Porter, Albert Quincy Regimental fifer
Posey, Lorenzo Dow 5th Sergeant

Rhodes, Richardson A. 2nd Sergeant
Rials, Jesse H.
Roberts, William F.
Rush, John
Rushing, Jacob
Rushing, Moses F.
Rushing, Thomas J. substitute for Tom Lofton

Scott, G. L.
Sirman (Sermons), Freelan H.
Sirman (Sermons), Jesse M.
Sirman (Sermons), William Columbus
Shell, C.
Smith, Allen H. Corporal
Smith, Brantley
Smith, Commodore P.
Smith, James K. Polk
Smith, Jasper 1st Corporal
Smith, John A.
Smith, Pleasant M.
Smith, Ransom Edward
Smith, Stephen
Smith, Thomas J.
Smith, William Green
Smith, William Lawrence Corporal
Speikes (Speaks), Edward F.

Tarver, Isaac H.
Tarver, James substitute for T. J. Dean
Tarver, William
Temple, J. M.
Temple, William R.

Wallace, James Jeremiah
Ward, George W.
Wentworth, Roan F.
Westbrook, Allen Newton
Williams, Michael
Woolsey, George W.
Wright, James
Wright, James Ferdinand
Wright, Thomas E.

Word of caution: to those who might want to "lift" this roster to post on other web sites or publish in book form. This is personal research and a compilation of works and is not in the public domain, thus IT MAY BE COPYRIGHTED BY ME ... AND IT IS!

1862 | 1863 | 1864 | 1865     Companies A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | K
Battles | Biographies | Casualties | History | Letters | Officers | Rosters | Links | Home
Contact Webmaster

Battle flag: Collection of the Old Capitol Museum of Mississippi History, Jackson, MS.

1999-2018 David E. Godbold