Site hosted by Build your free website today!
From left: A.Q. Porter, Eli Cupit, J.S. Burns, Emery Summers & O.T. Synnott. Masthead (c) 2003 David E. Godbold. USE BY PERMISSION ONLY.
Battles & Engagements
Biographies & Photos
A Brief Synopsis of the 33rd's History
1862 Chronology
1863 Chronology
1864 Chronology
1865 Chronology
Letters & Diaries
Original Officers
Rosters & Enlistment History

Click to view a larger version of the 33rd Mississippi Infantry flag










"We are a band of brothers, And native to the soil,
Fighting for the property we gained by honest toil;
And when our rights were threatened
the cry rose near and far:
Hurrah for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

"Hurrah! Hurrah! for Southern Rights hurrah! Hurrah! for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

---"The Bonnie Blue Flag" by Harry MaCarthy










All rights reserved. Duplication,
in whole or part,
via electronic or
print mode, without express written permission is

"Mississippi Defenders"
Co. I Panola County

The "Mississippi Defenders" of Panola County was organized at Eureka on March 7, 1862. William B. Johnson was Captain, with an original enrollment of 75 officers
and men.

Captain William B. Johnson
1st Lieutenant William Burgess Wall
2nd Lieutenant Robert H. Crozier
2nd Lieutenant C. Eugene Stephens
1st Sergeant Samuel B. Brown
2nd Sergeant Robert B. Martin
3rd Sergeant Thomas B. Middleton
4th Sergeant Henry A. Johnson
5th Sergeant William Kelly Oliver
1st Corporal William B. Markham
2nd Corporal Robert A. Shields
3rd Corporal William A. Herron
4th Corporal William Fawcett


Armstrong, George W.

Baker, Henry Clay
Barnett, Joel W.
Beale, Aaron G.
Bearden, Andrew Jackson
Benton, Solomon
Bobo, A. Todd
Bonner, Newton J.
Bowden (Boden), Haywood
Brown, Arter T.
Burgess, John S. 2nd Corporal

Cain, William
Cansler, Abel Theodore. regimental right general guide
Cardwell, John F. regimental sutter
Carpenter, John A. exchanged
      for Charles A. Morgan (Hudson's Battery)
Carter, Samuel A. 5th Sergeant
Clark, John J.
Collier, Charles J.
Cook, Daniel
Cooper, Alexander A.
Cooper, Hugh Y.
Cooper, N. Columbus
Cooper, William Sanhope
Cope, William M. 2nd Sergeant
Covington, John M.
Cox, John H. exchanged
      for James R. Yates (Ward's Battery)
Crowell, Benjamin F. 1st Sergeant

Derden, Mitchell P. musician
Douglas, Levi
Douglas, Ransom

Eastridge, Larkin W.
Elmore, Samuel
Evans, James

Faslun (Faslin), John A.
Felder, Newton M.
Finch, Caswell
Flowers, Abel
Flowers, James
Fly, John N. (W.)
Fowler, William Franklin

Goodson, James B.
Guest (Guist), Martin M.
Guest, Samuel M.

Hale, Henry C. 2nd Corporal
Hare, William M. 3rd Sergeant
Hellems, J. C.
Holland, Richard H.
Holloway, Samuel
Hubbard, Richard F.
Hubbard, Trustan
Humphries, John C.

Johnson, John
Jones, George H.
Joslin, Isaac

Lankford, James E.
Lankford, John
Lankford, William J.

Mariner, William Sherwood H.
Martin, Robert B. exchanged
      to 1st MS Cavalry for "Cap" Caswell Finch
Martindale, L. George
McCurdy, William C. 1st Sergeant
McElroy, Wiley J.
McGee, Toliver N.
McGinty, Joseph J.
McGinty, William P.
McLane, E. William
      (doubtful that he was in company)
McMinn, Baker
Middleton, Alva W. 1st Corporal
Middleton, John Y. 1st Sergeant
      exchanged from Co. K Ballentine Cavalry
      for 3rd Corporal William A. Herron
Mills, William Sidney
Morgan, Charles Augustus exchanged
      (from Hudson's Battery) for John A. Carpenter
Morgan, James (or John) Robert
Morgan, Joseph (or James) Edward
      4th Sergeant
Murphy, Thomas M.

Newsom, Harper

O' Neal, William S.

Perkins, Asbury D.
Pollard, James H.
Pollard, Miles H.

Ragan, Isaac Harvey discharged
      by substitute (Joseph "James" L. Ragan)
Ragan, Joseph L. substitute
      for Isaac Harvey Ragan
Rhodes, Jesse V. (or N.)
Robertson (Robinson), C. Franklin 1st Sergeant

Scott, Noah F.
Schoggen, Christopher Morgan
Schoggen (Scoggin), David J.
Schoggen (Scoggin), George M.
Shain, John G.
Shaw, James C.
Shields, Thomas J.
Sibley, Hartwell S.
Slaughter, Ezekial
Small, William A.
Smith, David
Spears, William C.
Stubbs, James O.

Tapper, Joseph
Tapper, William
Toney, Waddy M.
Trantham, George J.
Turner, James M.
Turpin, Andrew Jackson
Turpin, Thomas W.

Walter, Charles
Warren, Anderson
Weitzel, Herman Sergeant
Wharton, Andrew J.
Wharton, James Thomas
Williams, John B.
Williams, L. William
Willingham, Elijah
Wills (Wells), William
Womack, Levi B.
Wrenn, Edward J.
Wrenn, John A.

Yates, James R.
Young, Francis M.

Word of caution: to those who might want to "lift" this roster to post on other web sites or publish in book form. This is personal research and a compilation of works and is not in the public domain, thus IT MAY BE COPYRIGHTED BY ME ... AND IT IS!

1862 | 1863 | 1864 | 1865     Companies A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | K
Battles | Biographies | Casualties | History | Letters | Officers | Rosters | Links | Home
Contact Webmaster

Battle flag: Collection of the Old Capitol Museum of Mississippi History, Jackson, MS.

1999-2012 David E. Godbold