Site hosted by Build your free website today!
From left: A.Q. Porter, Eli Cupit, J.S. Burns, Emery Summers & O.T. Synnott. Masthead (c) 2003 David E. Godbold. USE BY PERMISSION ONLY.
Battles & Engagements
Biographies & Photos
A Brief Synopsis of the 33rd's History
1862 Chronology
1863 Chronology
1864 Chronology
1865 Chronology
Letters & Diaries
Original Officers
Rosters & Enlistment History

Click to view a larger version of the 33rd Mississippi Infantry flag








"We are a band of brothers, And native to the soil,
Fighting for the property we gained by honest toil;
And when our rights were threatened
the cry rose near and far:
Hurrah for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

"Hurrah! Hurrah! for Southern Rights hurrah! Hurrah! for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

---"The Bonnie Blue Flag" by Harry MaCarthy










All rights reserved. Duplication,
in whole or part,
via electronic or
print mode, without express written permission is

"Holmesville Guards"
Company E Pike County

The "Holmesville Guards" of Pike County was organized at the Court House in Holmesville on March 10, 1862. John T. Lamkin was Captain, with an original enrollment of 47. During the next month, another 30 joined, for a total of 77 officers and men.

Captain John T. Lamkin
1st Lieutenant Robert H. Felder
2nd Lieutenant John S. Lamkin
3rd Lieutenant George B. Lenoir


Ast, John

Bacot, Adam
Ball, Daniel Newton butcher for the Division
Barnes, Pinkney L.
Barnes, G. L.
Barr, T. C. S. 4th Sergeant
      discharged by substitute ( James M. Elliott)
Barr, Westley
Beard, William E.
Blackburn, Armstrong J.
Bonney, Henry S.
Bonney, Samuel C.
Booker, William J.
Bowary, S. C.
Briley, George W.
Bullock, Jeremiah J.
Bullock, Thomas F. (or J.)
Bush, James

Carr, George W.
Cavanaugh, Henry C.
Conerly, Chauncey Porter hospital steward
Conerly, Fleming Tynes
Conerly, James Rayford
Conerly, Mark Russell
Conerly, Owen Lewis 2nd Sergeant
Conerly, William Marion
Cotton, John N. [probably in Co. B]
Crosby, John W.
Crosby, Thomas

Dillon, Joel
Donahue, James M.
Douglas, John A.
Downs, John J.
Dunaway, Dennis
Dunaway, Jesse 1st Corporal
Dunaway, John C.
Dunaway, Pinkney

Elliott, J. M. discharged by substitute (no name)
Elliott, James M. (Jr.?) substitute
     for T. C. S. Barr
Ellzey, Lewis (Levi) N.

Felder, Rufus B.
Finch, Joel
Fisher, Christian discharged
     by substitute (no name)
Foil, Martin P.
Forest, Benjamin Frank
Fritz, Charles
Fulgham, James A.

Garner, David Crockett
Ginn, Newland Jack
Gladwell, A. J.

Hall, Thomas J.
Hammond, J. Arrington
Harrington, James
Harrington, William Jackson
Hart, John B.
Hartwell, C. E.
Harvey, John T.
Hodges, W. J.
Holmes, David 1st Sergeant
Holmes, F. M
Holmes, Jesse C.
Holmes, Raiford 3rd Corporal
Holmes, Thomas
Holmes, William G. 4th Corporal
Hoover, William B. Chaplain
Hughes, A. J.
Hughes, T. J.
Jackson, Stephen

King, Allen T.

Lamkin, Abner L.
Lamkin, Charles A. Sergeant-Major of Regiment
      substitute for (no name)
Lamkin, William J. 3rd Sergeant
Lee, Francis Marion
Lenoir, Joseph C. S. 4th Sergeant
Lewis, Lemuel
Ligon, Charles A. Ordnance Sergeant

Magee, C.
Magee, William W.
Martin, Wiley
May, Ethelred
May, John W.
May, Richard H.
May, William Franklin
McCormick, Edward M.
McGaha (Magaha), John M.
McKenzie, Allen W.
Miskell, Richard Austin 2nd Lieutenant
Moore, George W. teamster
Morgan, Alexander
Morgan, T. Frank
Morgan, Green W.
Morgan, William N.

Osburn, Lawrence substitute for (no name)

Payne, Thomas Washington
Pittman, John W
Price, Alexander
Price, F. M.
Price, James
Price, Jasper A.
Price, Wilson J.

Quinn, Arthur [probably Company K]
Quinn, Lucius M. 2nd Corporal
Quinn, W. F.

Ratliff, Calvin
Ratliff, Green B.
Ratliff, Warren R. 3rd Lieutenant
Richmond, Thomas Dilla 1st Sergeant
Rogers, Alex C.
Rushing, Evan C. substitute (for Wiley Rushing)
Rushing, Levi Richmond
Rushing, Matthew
Rushing, Norvel E.
Rushing, Silas C.
Rushing, Uriah K.
Rushing, Wiley discharged
      by substitute (Evan C. Rushing)

Sandifer, Amos
Sandifer, Joseph F.
Sandifer, Levi W.
Sandifer, Wallace

Thompson, Hugh J.
Turnipseed, Clifton Paley Ordnance Sergeant
Turnipseed, Harris W.

Vanorten (Vanarden), John W.

Wadke, Frederick
Ware, Benjamin Frank(lin)
Ware, Hiram G. 3rd Corporal
Warner, John D. 5th Sergeant
Weathersby, Hugh Eugene
Williams, David C. 4th Corporal
Williams, Zachariah

Word of caution: to those who might want to "lift" this roster to post on other web sites or publish in book form. This is personal research and a compilation of works and is not in the public domain, thus IT MAY BE COPYRIGHTED BY ME ... AND IT IS!

1862 | 1863 | 1864 | 1865     Companies A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | K
Battles | Biographies | Casualties | History | Letters | Officers | Rosters | Links | Home
Contact Webmaster

Battle flag: Collection of the Old Capitol Museum of Mississippi History, Jackson, MS.

1999-2011 David E. Godbold