Site hosted by Build your free website today!
From left: A.Q. Porter, Eli Cupit, J.S. Burns, Emery Summers & O.T. Synnott. Masthead (c) 2003 David E. Godbold. USE BY PERMISSION ONLY.
Battles & Engagements
Biographies & Photos
A Brief Synopsis of the 33rd's History
1862 Chronology
1863 Chronology
1864 Chronology
1865 Chronology
Letters & Diaries
Original Officers
Rosters & Enlistment History

Click to view a larger version of the 33rd Mississippi Infantry flag






"We are a band of brothers, And native to the soil,
Fighting for the property we gained by honest toil;
And when our rights were threatened
the cry rose near and far:
Hurrah for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

"Hurrah! Hurrah! for Southern Rights hurrah! Hurrah! for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

---"The Bonnie Blue Flag" by Harry MaCarthy












All rights reserved. Duplication,
in whole or part,
via electronic or
print mode, without express written permission is

"Amite Guards"
Company B Amite County

The "Amite Guards" of Amite County was organized on March 1, 1862. Hiram Morgan was Captain, with an original enrollment of 82 officers and men.

Captain Hiram Morgan
1st Lieutenant John Powell
2nd Lieutenant Hampton Wall
3rd Lieutenant Iverson G. Richmond
1st Sergeant William B. Raiford
2nd Sergeant James Underwood
3rd Sergeant George W. Perkins
4th Sergeant J. Newton Bryand (Bryland)
5th Sergeant Lott Tarver
1st Corporal Chistopher Columbus Felder
2nd Corporal William L. Wall
3rd Corporal Casual J. Nauls
4th Corporal D. E. (T.) Easly


Addison, James W.

Ballard, Henry
Brabham, William
Breeland, E. Reuben
Breeland, Robert E.
Breeland, William C.
Brown, William
Burris, J. F.

Carlisle, Edward (Other sources state
     Company C-33rd Miss.)
Carter, Calvin
Carter, Francis M.
Carter, Richard T.
Cockerham, James Ellison Corporal
Cook, P. A.
Cotten, John N.
Cowart, Eli (Other sources state
      Company C-33rd Miss.)

Davis, A.
Downey, Francis E. 5th Sergeant

Facunders, James J. 3rd Sergeant
Forrest, Matthew Bishop

Glover, A. G.
Gordon, Charles H.
Gwin, J.
Gyles, Douglas

Hamilton, John French
Hampton, William Newton substitute
      for Minor E. Tynes
Hughey, Ephram A.
Hurst, Thomas A.
Husband, Thomas Franklin

Jones, Davis
Jones, Moses
Jones, Reuben L.

Kees, Jesse M.

Liranni, Patrick

Mallett, Joseph
Martin, Wiley
McClendon, M. W.
McCoy, John S.
McCoy, N. B.
McDaniel, Evander
McDaniel, Henry
McDaniel, Howell
McDaniel, Jeptha W.
McDaniel, Meredith
McElveen, Moses Eli
Milton, J. B.
Mixon, Abner J.
Mixon, Edward B.
Mixon, Samuel P. Corporal
Mixon, William P. (T.?) Musician
Morgan, William N.

Netherland, Levi
Nevine (Nevins), James

Newman, Charles
Newman, John Tisdale
Newman, Theophilus

Pollard, J. W.

Rayborn, E.
Rayborn, George G.
Rayborn, S. D.
Rayborn, William
Reynolds, Sebe
Rhodes, Isaac
Rhodes, James J.
Roberts, George Washington
Roberts, Samuel E.
Robinson, Thomas A.

Sandifer, Levi James "Jackson"
Sauls, O. F.
Sharp, Henry
Sharp, William C.
Singleton, Champion F. substitute
      for Wilson G. Smith
Smith, Sam
Smith, Wilson G. discharged by
      substitute (Champion F. Singleton)
Spinks, Winsor H.
Steverson, Irving
Stewart, Alexander George 1st Sergeant
Stewart, G. W. 2nd Sergeant
Stewart. James M.
Stewart, John 4th Corporal
Stewart, William James
Strickland, W. J.

Tarver, Thomas P.
Taylor, Jordan W.
Taylor, Nimrod A.
Travis, Wilson
Travis, William R.
Tynes, Minor E. 1st Lieutenant
      discharged by substitute
      (William Newton Hampton)

Varnado, Ellis M. Musician
Varnado, Francis Marion
Varnado, James L.
Varnado, R. H. Corporal

Wall, Elijah B.
Wall, Howell C.
Wall, John H.
Wall, Lemuel C.
Wall, William C. 5th Sergeant
Webb, Kincheon R., Jr. Corporal
White, James F.
White, Stephen P.
Williams, Andrew J.
Williams, George B.
Williams, H. A.
Williams, Joseph D.
Williams, Joseph F. 3rd Corporal
Williams, J. W.
Willson, William Princeton
Wilson, Abraham J.
Wilson, Jesse C. 4th Sergeant
Wilson, John A.

Word of caution: to those who might want to "lift" this roster to post on other web sites or publish in book form. This is personal research and a compilation of works and is not in the public domain, thus IT MAY BE COPYRIGHTED BY ME ... AND IT IS!

1862 | 1863 | 1864 | 1865     Companies A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | K
Battles | Biographies | Casualties | History | Letters | Officers | Rosters | Links | Home
Contact Webmaster

Battle flag: Collection of the Old Capitol Museum of Mississippi History, Jackson, MS.

1999-2013 David E. Godbold