Site hosted by Build your free website today!
From left: A.Q. Porter, Eli Cupit, J.S. Burns, Emery Summers & O.T. Synnott. Masthead (c) 2003 David E. Godbold. USE BY PERMISSION ONLY.
Battles & Engagements
Biographies & Photos
A Brief Synopsis of the 33rd's History
1862 Chronology
1863 Chronology
1864 Chronology
1865 Chronology
Letters & Diaries
Original Officers
Rosters & Enlistment History

Click to view a larger version of the 33rd Mississippi Infantry flag







"We are a band of brothers, And native to the soil,
Fighting for the property we gained by honest toil;
And when our rights were threatened
the cry rose near and far:
Hurrah for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

"Hurrah! Hurrah! for Southern Rights hurrah! Hurrah! for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

---"The Bonnie Blue Flag" by Harry MaCarthy









All rights reserved. Duplication,
in whole or part,
via electronic or
print mode, without express written permission is

"Rebel Avengers"
Co. H Coahoma County

The "Rebel Avengers" of Coahoma County was organized at Friars Point on March 1, 1862. William S. Warren was Captain, with an original enrollment of 67 officers and men. (Muster rolls list this group as Company C of the 31st Mississippi Regiment, "...Colonel Hurst commanding.")

Captain William S. Warren
1st Lieutenant James C. Sharp
2nd Lieutenant R. E. Clopton
3rd Lieutenant L. L. Bridges
1st Sergeant Thomas M. Barnes
2nd Sergeant Joseph Lovedale
3rd Sergeant William J. Robison
4th Sergeant Robert C. Sharp
5th Sergeant Edwin F. Leavell
1st Corporal John R. Richardson
2nd Corporal Thomas J. (J. T.) Martin
3rd Corporal Robert M. Barnes
4th Corporal John G. Miller


Alexander, Thomas A.
Allen, William W.
Atkinson, W. G.

Backman (Beckman), Hugh
Barbee (Barber), Isaac
Beall, William E. 5th Sergeant
Bennett, W. T.
Boyte, Hugh
Brister, Samuel
Brister, William H.
Brister, W. T.
Bullock, Edwin A.
Buttermore, Morris

Christman, J. M.
Collins, J. A.
Cooper, Robert
Cornelius, David
Crow, John F.
Crow, Martin H.
Cummins, Jacob

Dalton, James
Dawkins, Henry S.
Dempsey, William
Dobbin(s), J. Milton 2nd Lieutenant
Douglas, J. A.
Dunn, James L. 2nd Corporal

Fitzgerald, Thomas
Flowers, R. W.
Ford, James H.
Frederick, James

Hamilton, J. S.
Hamilton, Thomas
Hamilton, W. H.
Harvey, Andrew J.
Heist, Lewis W.
Hibarger, John W.
Hickman, George W.
Hickman, H. McNeal
Hines, Thomas
Hunt, James H.

Johnson, Isaac R.
Johnson, Jack
Jones, H. C.
Jones, W. D. (rejected: "underage, very small & weak")

Kenney (Kinney), William musician
Killebrew, William B. 2nd Lieutenant
Kimball, Granville B.
Kirby, C. H.
Kirksey, Daniel E.
Kyser, John W.

Lard (Laird), Levi (or Leonidas)
Ledbetter, William C.
Legg, J. N.
Legg, Richard E.
Legg, T. R.
Legg, William G.
Lendower (Lindauer), John
Lishman, E.

Magee (McGee), W. P.
Malay (Molloy), John
Mangin, Patrick
Martin, George
Martin, James B.
McDonald, Daniel
McGuire, Thomas
McKinney, George E.
McLean (McLane), A. M.
Meely, R. M. Sergeant
Miller, George
Miller, James Barton
Montgomery, E. A.
Moody, A. C.
Moore, William M.
Moreland, J. P.
Murphy, Patrick

Newsom, Caswell N. 4th Sergeant
Newsom, M. C.

Owen(s), B. Franklin
Owens, William S.

Palmer, William
Pate, James E.
Porter, James F.
Price, Alexander

Reeves, William E.
Reilly (Riley), Edward
Rhodes, Ralzymon A.
Richardson, W. R.
Rickman, Henry C. brigade teamster
Rickman, W. B. (C.)
Robinson, William M.
Rodman, William
Rollins, John
Rushing, Ephraim
Rushing, Wiley

Scott, Thomas H.
Sharp, Hugh R. 5th Sergeant
Shaw, William Wirt
Shepard, J. R.
Shoemake, J. William
Shuford, Thomas, S.
Sirman (Sermon), John J.
Sneed, C. A.
Spencer, Marion (or Monroe) L. Sergeant
Stansberry (Stansbury), Marshall Rufus
Swann, Thomas T.

Taylor, Thomas

Walton, William T.
Weaver, Joseph H.

Word of caution: to those who might want to "lift" this roster to post on other web sites or publish in book form. This is personal research and a compilation of works and is not in the public domain, thus IT MAY BE COPYRIGHTED BY ME ... AND IT IS!

1862 | 1863 | 1864 | 1865     Companies A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | K
Battles | Biographies | Casualties | History | Letters | Officers | Rosters | Links | Home
Contact Webmaster

Battle flag: Collection of the Old Capitol Museum of Mississippi History, Jackson, MS.

1999-2011 David E. Godbold