Site hosted by Build your free website today!
From left: A.Q. Porter, Eli Cupit, J.S. Burns, Emery Summers & O.T. Synnott. Masthead (c) 2003 David E. Godbold. USE BY PERMISSION ONLY.
Battles & Engagements
Biographies & Photos
A Brief Synopsis of the 33rd's History
1862 Chronology
1863 Chronology
1864 Chronology
1865 Chronology
Letters & Diaries
Original Officers
Rosters & Enlistment History

Click to view a larger version of the 33rd Mississippi Infantry flag








"We are a band of brothers, And native to the soil,
Fighting for the property we gained by honest toil;
And when our rights were threatened
the cry rose near and far:
Hurrah for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

"Hurrah! Hurrah! for Southern Rights hurrah! Hurrah! for the bonnie blue flag that bears a single star!"

---"The Bonnie Blue Flag" by Harry MaCarthy









All rights reserved. Duplication,
in whole or part,
via electronic or
print mode, without express written permission is

"Johnson Guards"
Company C Lawrence County

The "Johnson Guards" of Lawrence County was organized at Fair River on April 1, 1862. Richmond O. Byrne was Captain, with an original enrollment of 54. April 15th another 25 were mustered for a total of 79 officers and men.

Captain Richmond O. Byrne
1st Lieutenant Thomas Jefferson Martin
2nd Lieutenant Minor E. Tynes
3rd Lieutenant
Lewis Clark Maxwell

Allen, Jesse R.

Barnwell, Harmon H.
Bilbo, Gustavus A. - 4th Sgt.
Bloomington, J. Louenthal
Boone, John W.
Breeden, Rholin Chiles
Brister, Jesse R.
Brister, John R.
Buie, Joseph S.
Burns, Joseph Sandifer 3rd Corporal
Butler, Fountain Winston (Winstead)

Caperton, R. E.
Carlisle, Asa
Carlisle, Edward J. [Co. B on most records]
Carlisle, James H.
Carlisle, Perry
Carlisle, Ransom
Carpenter, Francis G.
Chandler, Samuel H.
Cliburn, James
Cooper, William
Cowart, Eli O. [Co. B]
Crane, John
Crane, Wilson

Dale, Squire W.
Delaughter, George
Dickson, Peterson M.
      [or Dickerson, Preston M.] 1st Corporal
Douglass, Andrew J. Jr. "Andy"
Douglass, Andrew J., Sr.
Douglass, Benjamin F.
Dunn, Isaac H. N.
Dunn, Louis
Dykes, Hanson L.

Elliott, William Frank

Farver, William P.
Flippin, Alonzos M. 2nd Corporal
Freeman, William C.
Furr, Henry Jacob

Garner, G. H.
Garner, G. W.
Givens, Alexander
Givens, Isaiah
Griffith, Elihu H.
Griffith, John S.
Gunnells, Benjamin H.
Gwin, James S. 4th Sergeant

Ham, Anderson
Ham, James D.
Ham, Reuben Anderson
Hickman, Emanuel
Hickman, Rollen
Holloway, William J.

Johnson, Harvey F. - helped organize the            company, but no indication that he actually
Jordan, Crawford Newton
Jordan, Reuben
Jordan, Simeon 3rd Corporal/Musician
Jordan, Zachariah R.

Kees, Jesse Maxwell [Co. B originally]
Kees, Martin Van Buren - Corp.
Kees, Perry Commodore - Corp.
Kyzar, Elbert
Kyzar, John J.

Laird, Joseph W.
Laird, Thomas L.

Lenoir, William H.
Lewenthal, Michael
Lovell, Andrew J.
Lovell, Gabriel

Martin, Albert J. 3rd Lieutenant
Martin, Daniel M.
Martin, Tuseral R.
Martin, Hampton B.
Mason, Hucled E.
Mason, John H.
Mason, Winston C.
Massey, Thomas
Maxwell, Jesse M.
Maxwell, Lewis W.
Maxwell, Simeon
May, Elihu 1st Sergeant
May, James M.
May, Joda
May, John Madison
McGuffee (McGuffie), Alfred Hardy
McGuffee (McGuffie), David Zebulon
McGuffee (McGuffie), Joseph Pendleton
Moore, Delton Cobb
Myres (Myers), Orval L.

Nations, Abraham
Nations, Joe
Nolan, Norvell

Parkman, John R.
Parnell, John Westley
Pennington, Abraham (or Absalom)
Pierce, George Washington Sergeant

Ratcliff, Richard J.
Red, (Redd) Thomas Jefferson
Reeves, Thomas Alexander
Reid, Elbert W.
Reid, James Thomas
Renfro John J.
Renfro, Peter
Robertson, George R.
Rush, John P.

Sanford, William Nathaniel
Sauls, B. F.
Sauls, Isaac L.
Scarborough, Allen 1st Lieutenant
Smith, A. G. Brown
Smith, Alfred W. 4th Corporal/Musician
Smith, Allen
Smith, Elijah Hickerson
Smith, John Martin
Smith, Stephen J.
Spurling, Calvin R. G
Spurling, Obanion R. H.
Stamps, Festus A. 1st Sergeant
Stamps, Joseph J
Stephens, A. C.
Stewart, James C.
Stewart, Seaborn (Sieb or Sieborn)
Stewart, William
Summers, Achilles M.
Summers, Gwin, L.
Summers, Zephaniah J.
Sykes, Hanson L.

Thornhill, Jonathan J. 2nd Sergeant

Weathersby, Thomas A.
White, Edward Mitchell
Williams, Zachariah
Wingate, William W.

Word of caution: to those who might want to "lift" this roster to post on other web sites or publish in book form. This is personal research and a compilation of works and is not in the public domain, thus IT MAY BE COPYRIGHTED BY ME ... AND IT IS!

1862 | 1863 | 1864 | 1865     Companies A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | K
Battles | Biographies | Casualties | History | Letters | Officers | Rosters | Links | Home
Contact Webmaster

Battle flag: Collection of the Old Capitol Museum of Mississippi History, Jackson, MS.

1999-2011 David E. Godbold