Site hosted by Build your free website today!


Hank Aaron
Grover Alexander
Cap Anson
Ernie Banks
Johnny Bench
Yogi Berra
Roy Campanella
Steve Carlton
Roberto Clemente
Ty Cobb
Mickey Cochrane
Eddie Collins
Joe DiMaggio
Bob Feller
Whitey Ford
Jimmie Foxx
Lou Gehrig
Bob Gibson
Josh Gibson
Lefty Grove
Rogers Hornsby
Walter Johnson
Sandy Koufax
Napoleon Lajoie
Mickey Mantle
Eddie Mathews
Christy Mathewson
Willie Mays
Joe Morgan
Stan Musial
Satchel Paige
Jim Palmer
Frank Robinson
Jackie Robinson
Babe Ruth
Mike Schmidt
Tom Seaver
Warren Spahn
Tris Speaker
Honus Wagner
Ted Williams
Cy Young

Website Design by
Casey White

August 13, 1999

Not exactly Hall of Fame-related, but the DTFC just voted on our 1990s All Star Team. Check out the results here.

July 5, 1999

Well, the DTFC just held their All Star Break HOF election, and, surprise surprise, no one was elected. But the debates were hot and heavy, highlighted by a discussion on the merits of Ron Santo vs. George Brett. Click here to read all about it.

And click here to read all the results. Special thanks to O-fer for organizing the vote and to Mister T for keeping up with the great debates.


May 31, 1999

Just a warning--this page is undergoing a major reconstruction at the moment. Doctors give it a 50% chance of surviving, but some links may be inoperable for a bit. Check back soon, donations can be sent to:

The Texas Rangers Memorial Pitching Fund
c/o Doug Melvin, General Manager
The Ballpark in Arlington
Arlington, TX 44321

My apologies for the construction,

March 27, 1999

Negro League legend Josh Gibson was the only player to be elected into the Dickie Thon Fan Club Hall of Fame this go-around. Click here to view the complete results of the election. Big thanks to O-fer for keeping up with all the ballots.

One week till Opening Day!

January 31, 1999

The votes are in and six more players have been elected into the Dickie Thon Fan Club Hall of Fame. The six are: Sandy Koufax, Satchel Paige, Eddie Mathews, Roberto Clemente, Jackie Robinson, and Ernie Banks. Click here to get the scoop on the election.

In other news, the DTFC Hall of Fame players pages are being put together at this very moment. Click on a link above to have a peek. About half the pages are done, the other half will be shortly. Have patience!

Viva le Dickie!

January 24, 1999

January is the cruelest month for a baseball fan. No box scores. Most of the big trades are done. The Twins and Expos are already eliminated from the pennant race. An all-around depressing month. It was in an attempt to chase away those January baseball blues that the members of the Dickie Thon Fan Club decided to start our own Hall of Fame.

It started out simply. Outlier posted a list of what he thought were the "no-brainers," the people that would make any baseball Hall of Fame, no matter how high its standards. The members of the DTFC then proceeded to demolish the list bit by bit. All it took was one nay vote and that player was banished from the DTFC Hall of Fame for this first round of voting.

The debates were oftentimes hot and heavy, but they were always educational. Maybe the best example of this was the Pure Bull/Outlier debate on Eddie Mathews, Mel Ott, and Chuck Klein. Through the miracles of cut-and-paste mixed with a little HTML, you can read the entire debate by clicking here. WARNING: Short people may be offended by some of the content contained therein.

Another great debate was the Rube Waddell debate. Click here to see what was said about the great Rube.

In the end, 35 players were selected as members of the initial class of the Dickie Thon Fan Club Hall of Fame. The list of players deemed unworthy of induction included Sandy Koufax, Satchel Paige, Roberto Clemente, and Indian Bob Johnson. So without further adieu, the first members of the DTFC Hall of Fame are...envelope please...

C- Johnny Bench, Yogi Berra, Mickey Cochrane, Roy Campanella
1- Cap Anson, Jimmie Foxx, Lou Gehrig
2- Eddie Collins, Nap Lajoie, Joe Morgan, Rogers Hornsby
S- Honus Wagner
3- Mike Schmidt
LF- Stan Musial, Ted Williams
CF- Mickey Mantle, Willie Mays, Tris Speaker, Ty Cobb, Joe DiMaggio
RF- Hank Aaron, Frank Robinson, Babe Ruth
P- Grover Alexander, Steve Carlton, Bob Feller, Whitey Ford, Bob Gibson, Lefty Grove, Walter Johnson, Christy Mathewson, Tom Seaver, Cy Young, Warren Spahn, Jim Palmer

A special thanks to O-fer for keeping up with all the ballots and to Mister T for putting together the debate pages. The next voting period is already in progress and will end on January 31. Each DTFC member has an unlimited number of ballot spots, a player must appear on at least 75% of the ballots to be inducted. After that, the DTFC is planning on having an election every four months or so with each member getting 10 ballot spots for players and 2 for non-players with the same 75% rule applying.

So come back soon to see what other players will be deemed Hall of Fame-worthy by the best fan club that Dickie Thon never knew he had. Click on a link in the box at the top of the page to learn a little bit about each member of the DTFC Hall of Fame.