Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Home Page Leagues Cups UEFA Cups National Teams EUROS World Cups
Türkiye Kupası
Türkiye Kupası
Atatürk Kupası
Cumhurbaşkanlığı Kupası
Başbakanlık Kupası
Gençlik ve Spor Bakanlığı Kupası
İstanbul TSYD Kupası
Turkish Leagues
Turkish Cups
European Championships
World Cups
Cem Pekin
Erdinç Sivritepe

A Brief Summary

The national professional leagues started in 1959, but it took another five years for the national professional cup games to start.

European Cup Winners' Cup competition made that start faster. There was a national Turkish Championships - a cup style tournament, being played since 1923, but it was for amateur clubs only. TFF had to start a cup competition at professional level, after missing three European Cup Winners' competitions. The first cup was held at 1962-63 season and Turkey joined the European up Winners' Cup the following year.

The competition started as "Türkiye Kupası - Turkish Cup".
The name was changed to "Federasyon Kupası - Federation Cup" in 1981-82.
It became "Türkiye Kupası" again in 1992-93 season.
The cup had a sponsor first time in 2004-05 and the cup changed its name to include the sponsor name "FORTİS Türkiye Kupası".
The sponsor changed in 2009-2010. TRT - Turkish Radio and Television company became sponsor and sold the name sponsorship to another governmental company - Ziraat Bankası (Bank of Agriculture). The name became "Ziraat Bankası Türkiye Kupası".

The cup winners used to play for the "Cumhurbaşkanlığı Kupası" and the losers for the "Başbakanlık Kupası". The winner plays the "Süper Kupa - Super Cup" vs the league champions, recently.

The Turkish cup is the second to the league games in popularity.

	2005-2006  2006-2007  2007-2008  2008-2009  2009-2010

	2000-2001  2001-2002  2002-2003  2003-2004  2004-2005

	1995-1996  1996-1997  1997-1998  1998-1999  1999-2000

	1990-1991  1991-1992  1992-1993  1993-1994  1994-1995

	1985-1986  1986-1987  1987-1988  1988-1989  1989-1990
	1980-1981  1981-1982  1982-1983  1983-1984  1984-1985

	1975-1976  1976-1977  1977-1978  1978-1979  1979-1980
	1970-1971  1971-1972  1972-1973  1973-1974  1974-1975

	1965-1966  1966-1967  1967-1968  1968-1969  1969-1970
			          1962-1963  1963-1964  1964-1965

Cem Pekin would like to thank

Mehmet Durupınar, Mustafa Erten, Cem Ertuğrul, Mehmet Yüce, and İlker Aksu

for their support and contributions to his work.

Home Page Leagues Cups UEFA Cups National Teams EUROS World Cups