Symphony X - Twilight in Olympos 3.5/5

Reviewed: 6-10-05


1. Smoke and mirrors
2. Church of the machine
3. Sonata
4. In the dragon's den
5. Through the looking glass (Part l, ll, lll)
6. The relic
7. Orion - The hunter
8. Lady of the snow

'Twilight in Olympus' is the follow–up to 1997's great 'The divine wings of tragedy'. In fact, 'The divine wings of tragedy' was such an excellent CD that 'Twilight in Olympus' had almost no chance to live up to the prior standard. And it doesn't; but it is still an excellent CD.

The opening track, "Smoke and mirrors", and "In the dragon's den" are typically excellent speed tracks. "Church of the machine' and "The relic" are slowed down a little, with the final track, "Lady of the snow" being a great, emotional power–ballad. The epic centerpiece track, "Through the looking glass", is excellent but doesn't live up to the title track from the previous CD due to having less variety. In fact, that pretty much summarizes ‘Twilight in Olympus’; while it was one of the best CDs of 1998, it can't quite live up to the brilliance of its predecessor. The style is the same, the playing is top notch, and the emotion is still there. ‘Twilight in Olympus’, however, seems rushed. And the reason is because it was. The record company didn't even give the band enough time to complete the planned epic title track.

It is important to remember that 'The divine wings of tragedy' is one of the best metal CDs of all time, and not living up to that does not make this a bad CD. It is, in fact, a very good one featuring excellent songs, great vocals by Russell Allen, awesome lead guitar by virtuoso Michael Romeo, and excellent guitar/keyboard interplay between Romeo and keyboardist Michael Pinella.




MAIN - A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - MISC