Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Dream Master - Waiting for the end 3.5/5

Reviewed: 6-27-08


1. Children of tomorrow
2. False leaders
3. Speed lovers
4. Inner suffering
5. Looking for an angel
6. At the edge
7. Lost boys
8. The circle of life
9. Prelude to wrath
10. Power of hate
11. Chained wishes
12. School of dark arts
13. Reino del terror (bonus track)
14. Enjoy the silence (bonus track)

Formed in 2001 and surprisingly from Argentina (I would have guessed Finland or Sweden), Dream Master is back with their 2nd CD 'Waiting for the end', the follow-up to their 2005 's/t' debut. I suspect many of you have never heard of the band though, as the release of their debut didn't bring them very much recognition (as far as I know). So 'Waiting for the end' might become their introduction to many metal fans, but either way, the band's worthy of more recognition.

Dream Master is fronted by Ezequiel Wiurnos (who also plays rhythm guitar), whose vocals are very similar to Toni "Antony" Parviainen from Machine Men, Stefan Ferrara from Mindguard and Bruce Dickinson from Iron Maiden (and his solo career). Musically, they play heavy/power metal in line with Machine Men and Bruce Dickinson's solo CDs - regarding his heaviest and least expiremental material. There's a hint of Jacobs Dream at times and I'm also reminded of Rob Rock's solo CDs in a few spots, but although Dream Master's lyrics are based on Christian themes like Rob Rock, overall (regarding both musically and vocally), I think Machine Men is the best direct comparison.

There are a lot of songs on 'Waiting for the end' (14 if you count the 2 bonus tracks), and the good thing is they're all very good. While the debut is definitely solid, I do think the band has improved a little with this CD, as none of the songs are close to being weak. Granted, there isn't a lot of speed and most of the songs are mid-paced, but there are flashes of speed and some awesome guitar solos that bring in some of excitement. So the CD avoids being boring, and if you have Machine Men, you should have a great idea of what to expect. I like all of the songs, but special mention must be made of the bonus track 'Enjoy the silence', a Depeche Mode cover, which is a nice addition to the CD.

In the end, if you're a fan of Machine Men (and probably Bruce Dickinson and Rob Rock as well), you should definitely check out Dream Master, as there's a good chance you'll be pleased with their quality. That said, there's room for improvement in the songwriting department and I wish their songs were just a bit more memorable, but there's no doubt in my mind that the band can get even better.




MAIN - A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - MISC