Blog Tools
Edit your Blog
Build a Blog
View Profile
« March 2015 »
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
Entries by Topic
All topics  «
Eastern Kentucky Basketball Men
Eastern Kentucky Basketball Wome
Eastern Kentucky University Foot
Rick Bolus Rankings
Ron Harrison
Sports Links
You are not logged in. Log in
Ron Harrison Writes...
Friday, 13 March 2015
Lexington Catholic vs. Bryan Station (Boys) 11th Region Championship March 10, 2015
Topic: Basketball




Lexington Catholic vs. Bryan Station (Boys)

11th Region Tournament Championship

McBrayer Arena

Eastern Kentucky University

Richmond, KY

March 10, 2015


Lexington Catholic coach Brandon Salsman started the following lineup: 6-5 Sr. Tanner Johnson, 6-3 Sr. Reese Ryan, 6-5 Sr. Walker Boothe, 5-10 Sr. Michael Talbott, and 6-2 Sr. Jarod Griffin.  Bryan Station coach Tommy Johnson countered with 6-3 Sr. Tequan Claitt, 6-1 Sr. Josh Owsley, 6-8 Sr. Chase Caldwell, 6-0 Jr. Andre Davis, and 6-0 Sr. CJ Walker.

Lexington Catholic led 35-23 in the third quarter and withstood a furious Bryan Station rally in the final quarter to earn a 56-53 victory and the regional championship.  There were seven lead changes and four ties in this game.  Lexington Catholic shot 55.6% from the field including three of nine from the three point line.  The Knights connected on 13 of 19 free throws, pulled down 27 rebounds, and scored one point off nine Bryan Station turnovers.  Bryan Station shot 36.7% from the field including five of 18 from beyond the arc.  The Defenders connected on 12 of 16 free throws, pulled down 26 rebounds, and scored 15 points off 14 Lexington Catholic turnovers.

Tournament MVP Michael Talbott led Lexington Catholic with 21 points and four rebounds.  Talbott was seven of 10 from the field and seven of eight free throws.  Jarod Griffin added 13 points.  Tanner Johnson recorded 12 points, seven rebounds, and four steals.  Reese Ryan dished out six assists.

6-2 Jr. Tim Dunn led Bryan Station with 17 points including three three point baskets and seven rebounds.  Tequan Claitt added 14 points and five rebounds.  CJ Walker recorded 10 points and five assists.  Andre Davis chipped in with eight points.


Lexington Catholic,14,11,16,15,56

Bryan Station,13,6,11,23,53


Lexington Catholic (56) – Johnson 12, Ryan 2, Boothe 2, Talbott 21, Griffin 13, Morris 4, Ogbogu 2.


Bryan Station (53) – Claitt 14, Owsley 0, Caldwell 4, Davis 8, Walker 10, Dunn 17.


All Tournament Team – Kirkland Humphrey (Madison Central), Keagan Stromberg (Woodford County), Ryan Schneider (Franklin County), Ephraim Otieno (Model), Isaiah Tisdale (Henry Clay), Felix Wilson (Henry Clay), TJ Downey (Lafayette), Ross Jenkins (Lafayette), Andre Davis (Bryan Station), CJ Walker (Bryan Station), Tequan Claitt (Bryan Station), Tanner Johnson (Lexington Catholic), Jarod Griffin (Lexington Catholic), Reese Ryan (Lexington Catholic), and Michael Talbott (Lexington Catholic) MVP.

A special thanks to the Eastern Kentucky University Stats Crew for providing the comprehensive statistics for tonight’s game.


Posted by REH at 8:15 PM EDT
Permalink | Share This Post

Newer | Latest | Older