Site hosted by Build your free website today!


There are four elements used in western astrology, and each of the four elements break the signs down into four groups of three each. Each group of three signs is called a triplicity. If I didn't lose you yet, keep reading!

The first element is Fire. Fire signs are just like you would think if you were to imagine the element of fire itself. Fire moves quickly; it has spark; it grows quickly; and it is explosive. If you can picture that in your mind, you can understand the idea behind the Fire signs. These signs tend to be more aggressive, be exciting, and have zest. The Fire triplicity consists of: Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. All of the Fire signs fall into the Masculine/Assertive polarity.

The second element is Earth. Earth signs also can be visualized. They are grounded, firm, steady, dependable, show where you have the ability to get things done, and are sometimes stubborn. The Earth triplicity consists of: Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. All of the Earth signs fall into the Feminine/Receptive polarity.

The third element is Air. Air signs are free-flowing, intellectual, humanitarian, and social. The Air triplicity consists of: Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. All of the Air signs are Masculine/Assertive.

The fourth element is Water. Water signs are intense, deep, emotional, and intuitive. The Water triplicity consists of: Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. The Water signs are all Feminine/Receptive.

The Elements are important when trying to understand the motivations for the signs, as they are the building blocks for the descriptions of the nature

Sub-Map of Beginner Pages

|Tips on Learning Astrology|Signs|Planets|Rulers|
|Elements|Masc. & Fem.|Qualities|Houses|
|Aspects|Astrology Chat/Class|Rising Signs|