Site hosted by Build your free website today!

he onderful orld of Z

ost people will be acquainted with the fairy land of Oz only through the 1939 MGM movie ‘The Wizard of Oz’, starring Judy Garland. (Actually, studio head L.B.Mayer originally tried to get the loan of Shirley Temple to play Garland’s role. Imagine!!! Little Miss Sunshine as Dorothy! Ew. Luckily, this did not come to pass).

he Wizard of Oz was written by L.Frank Baum and published in 1900, followed by 13 more Oz novels the last of which was published in 1920. For the record, there exist about 15 more Oz books following the success of the original series which were written by Ruth Plumly Thompson. However, Llydien doesn’t know or care about these books, for her they are absolutely on par with Star Wars Episode I, II and III. Baum’s fourteen Oz books are:

  • The Wizard of Oz (1900)
  • The Land of Oz (1904)
  • Ozma of Oz (1907)
  • Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz (1908)
  • The Road to Oz (1909)
  • The Emerald City of Oz (1910)
  • The Patchwork Girl of Oz (1913)
  • Tik-Tok of Oz (1914)
  • The Scarecrow of Oz (1915)
  • Rinkitink in Oz (1916)
  • The Lost Princess of Oz (1917)
  • The Tin Woodman of Oz (1918)
  • The Magic of Oz (1919)
  • Glinda of Oz (1920)

here is a thematical break after The Emerald City of Oz at the end of which the fairy country of Oz is cut off completely from the outside world - Baum evidently intended this book to be the last in the series. However, after many pleas from his readers he circumvented the problem of an invisible and incommunicado country by following the suggestion of one little reader who proposed that he as Royal Historian of Oz communicate with Dorothy (his correspondent) via the ‘wireless’ telegraph - and eight more Oz novels followed. Llydien prefers the first six books of the series, however. She’d also like to suggest the following: if you - Gentle Reader - should ever consider investing in part or the whole of the Oz series, try to get the Del Rey Oz books (published by Ballantine, a division of Random House Inc.) This particular series has the original enchantingly beautiful Art Nouveau illustrations by John R. Neill.

Return safely to the Index by clicking HERE

Another way to Darkover

To the top of page