History of the Minnesota Vikings

Over the past quarter-century, the Minnesota Vikings have consistently been at the top of their division. During that same period, only Dallas has made more playoff appearances. In addition, only four teams have played in more Super Bowls than Minnesota, which participated in Super Bowls IV, VIII, IX and XI.

The pro football saga in the Twin Cities began in August 1959, when five Minnesota businessmen were awarded afranchise in the new American Football League. Five months later in January 1960, the same ownership group made up of Bill Boyer, Ole Haugsrud, Bernie Ridder, H. P. Skoglund and Max Winter first forfeited its AFL membership and then was awarded the National Football League's 14th franchise that was to begin play in 1961.

Perhaps no team in history ever had a more spectacular debut than did the Minnesota Vikings in their first game ever on September 17, 1961. Rookie FranTarkenton made a once-in-a-generation debut when he came off the bench to throw four touchdown passes and run for a fifth score to lead his Vikings to a 37-13 thrashing of the fabled Chicago Bears. Two-and-a-half decades later in 1986, Tarkenton became the first Vikings player to be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Minnesota's first management team was led by general manager Bert Rose and head coach Norm Van Brocklin. From the start, the Vikings embraced anenergetic marketing program that produced a first-year season ticket sale of nearly 26,000 and an average home attendance of 34,586, about 85 percent of the capacity of 40,800 Metropolitan Stadium. Eventually the stadium capacity was increased to 47,900. Rose resigned from his position in 1964 and Van Brocklin quit abruptly in the spring of 1967. The Vikings went to Canada to get their replacements. Jim Finks, then general manager of the Calgary Stampeders, was named as thenew general manager. Bud Grant, head coach of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, became the new Vikings field leader.

The success of the Vikings over the next two decades always will be highlighted by the image of the stone-faced Grant on the sidelines of the frozen field at old Metropolitan Stadium. In only their second year under Grant, the Vikings began a stretch of 11 division titles in 13 years. They won the NFL championship in 1969 and NFC titles in 1973, 1974 and 1976. Hefirst retired in 1983 but came back for a year in 1985 before making his retirement permanent. Grant's 168-108-5 record makes him the eighth winningest coach of all time.

In 1982, the Vikings moved into the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome, the site of Super Bowl XXVI, with a capacity of 63,000. There they have continued to enjoy an approximately .600 home winning record. From Bud Grant, Fran Tarkenton, Chuck Foreman and Alan Page to the stars of the 1990s --Dennis Green, Randall McDaniel, Steve Jordan and Cris Carter -- the names have changed over the years but the Vikings' tradition has remained constant.

Vikings Facts

  • Franchise Granted:
    January 27, 1960
  • First Season:
  • Stadium:
    Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome
  • Owner:
    Red McCombs
  • President:
    Gary Woods
  • General Manager:
    Tim Connolly
  • SeniorVice President/Administration:
    Jeff Diamond
  • Head Coach:
    Dennis Green
  • NFL Championship:
  • NFC Championships:
    1973, 1974, 1976
  • NFL Central Division Championships:
    1968, 1969
  • NFL Western ConferenceChampionship:
  • NFL Central Division Championships:
    1970, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1989, 1992, 1994, 1998
  • All-Time Record:
  • Retired Uniform Numbers:
    #10 Fran Tarkenton, #88 Alan Page

Firsts, Records, and Odds and Ends

  • First Draft Choice:
    Tommy Mason, HB, Tulane, 1961.
  • First Regular-Season Game:
    A 37-13 victory over the Chicago Bears, 9/17/61.
  • First Regular-Season Points:
    A four-yard field goal by kicker Mike Mercer.
  • First Winning Season:
    1964 (8-5-1).
  • First Playoff Appearance:
    A 24-14 loss to the Baltimore Colts in the NFL Western Conference playoff game, 12/22/68.
  • First Super Bowl Appearance:
    A 23-7 loss to the Kansas City Chiefs in Super BowlIV, 1/11/70.
  • First All-Pro Selection:
    HB Tommy Mason, 1963.
  • First Pro Bowl Selections:
    HB Hugh McElhenny and E Jerry Reichow, 1961.
  • First Viking Elected to the Hall of Fame:
    QB Fran Tarkenton, 1986.
  • First To Rush 100 Yards in a Game:
    Raymond Hayes, 123 yards vs.the Los Angeles Rams, 12/3/61.
  • First 1,000-Yard Rusher:
    Chuck Foreman, 1,070 yards (1975).
  • First To Pass 400 Yards in a Game:
    Fran Tarkenton, 407 yards vs. the San Francisco 49ers, 10/24/65.
  • Most Yards Rushing, Career:
    Chuck Foreman, 5,879 yards (1973-79).
  • Most YardsPassing, Career:
    Fran Tarkenton, 33,098 yards (1961-66, 1972-78).
  • Most Receptions, Career:
    Cris Carter, 745 receptions (1990-98).
  • All-Time Leading Scorer:
    Fred Cox, 1,365 points (1963-77).
  • Most Lopsided Win:
    A 51-3 victory over the Cleveland Browns, 11/9/69.
  • Vikings inthe Pro Football Hall of Fame:
    Jim Finks, Alan Page, Bud Grant, Fran Tarkenton, Paul Krause, Jim Marshall

    Home | Next Game | Previous Game | Schedule | Standings | Power Rankings | Roster | Coaches | Staff | Team History
    Metrodome | New Stadium | 1998 Records | Chat Room | Funny Jokes | Downloads | Pro Shop | Team Nicknames | Viking Links | E-Mail Me

    Copyright 1999 Mike Marshall, Vikings Fan