Site hosted by Angelfire.com: Build your free website today!




Table of Contents

Breaking News
 (if it ain't flashin', it ain't breakin', but it is always of interest)

Introduction to the Babylon 5 Collectable Card Game - (B5 CCG)

Card Releases 

Houston, Texas Area Babylon 5 CCG Tournaments  and Demos

My Wants, My Gots (personal trades)

Houston Area locations selling B5 CCG cards

Houston Area Babylon 5 CCG Player's List

Babylon 5 CCG Errata and Clarifications from Precedence

Babylon 5 CCG Rule Discussions and Examples from Rangers

More Stuff
    Errata lists
    Card Lists 

Links

 Babylon 5 CCG Rules Discussion and Examples by Rangers 

I know you may be asking "What's a Ranger, and what do they do?" Rangers are individuals sanctioned by Precedence to set up, run and judge Babylon 5 CCG demonstrations and Tournaments. Certain Rangers are active in the newsgroup rec.games.trading-card.misc and answer questions from players that are posted there. Precedence keeps an eye on this newsgroup and gives their blessings to the discussions posted therein. 

I have posted discussions of some of the more twisty questions that I had upon learning the game that helped me understand the fine shadings of gameplay (no, none of these questions are mine). These snippets were from the newsgroup, and edited by me to remove the headers and the quote marks for clarity. 

A note on some of the players: Doug Williamson is a Ranger, and a netrep (internet representative) of Precedence. Dave Hewitt and John Hart are Vice Presidents of Precedence Publishing. Dave Green is a Ranger. 

Level the Playing Field

Question: If I initiate an Intrigue conflict and I have a fleet with text that states "Can only participate in conflicts targeting you" can I use Level the Playing Field on this fleet to support my conflict?? 

 Answer: No. Level the Playing Field doesn't lift any restrictions other than what ability can be used by the target in the conflict. 

Question: If my opponent plays a conflict that is one of those everybody-can-support-themselves conflicts and I have a fleet with text that states "Can only participate in conflicts targeting you" can I use Level the Playing Field on this fleet to support myself in my opponent's conflict?? 

 Answer: No, as above. 

Question: If I initiate an Intrigue conflict and my opponent uses a Level the Playing Field on one of his characters with a high Diplomacy but 0 Intrigue to oppose my conflict, can I now attack his character with Intrigue?? And if so, does he damage me back with his Diplomacy ability or with his 0 Intrigue ability?? If his character had a Strife Mark how would this affect my attack?? 

 Answer: You must attack with the ability used in the conflict, diplomacy in this case, regardless of conflict type. The strife mark would still add +2 damage. Even in the general case of attacking or being attacked with a zero skill, the strife mark adds its +2. 

This set of rulings was compiled from posts by Dave Green (Ranger). Minor edits for clarity were made by Mike Prasek.

Go Back to Top

Providing, Purging, and Counting Marks

*Providing Marks* 

Question: Does Evidence of Shadows count as 'a card that requires or gives Shadow marks' for the purpose of Morden or Z'ha'dum? 

Answer: Today, upon unanimous reconsideration of the design team, any card that has any method of adding a mark to a faction "provides" the mark. Thus: Morden provides shadow marks. Kosh provides Vorlon marks. AIWMTB provides Destiny marks (should it matter). Martyr does not provide Destiny marks. (it is a conversion) 

*Counting and Purging Marks* 

Marks resulting from enhancements, aftermaths, and agendas are a function of that card. If the enhancement, aftermath, or agenda leaves play by any means, any marks given by those cards are taken away, IF the character still has any of those marks. If there are no such marks to lose, there is no penalty. 
The marks a character has are not linked to a specific card and form a "pool" of indistinguishable marks. 

   EXAMPLE:

Delenn has 1 Vorlon and 1 Destiny mark. If she adds the Triluminary, she gains one more of each. 

So, at this time, she has two Vorlon and two Destiny marks. If she later loses the Triluminary (don't ask how), the results are: 

1) If she still has 2 of each mark, she loses one of each, leaving her with one of each mark. 

2) If she has purged one Vorlon mark already, when the Triluminary leaves, she will lose 1 Destiny mark and 1 Vorlon mark, leaving her with only 1 Destiny mark. 

So this means that she cannot choose to purge the Vorlon mark from the Triluminary explicitly. She could not, then, count the one Vorlon mark lost when the Triluminary goes as the one already gone by purging. 

If she has the prophecy removed, she must lose her remaining Destiny mark. 

   EXAMPLE 2:

Servant's of Order requires you to delete a Vorlon Mark to find a card that requires or gives Vorlon Marks, Kosh gives you the Mark to discard, so you retain your "PERMANENT" Vorlon Marks. 

If you use Kosh to gain some temporary Vorlon mark(s), then, at the end of the turn, you must purge as many marks as are available up to the number gained from Kosh. 

In other-words, in the case of Servants of Order, marks purged are taken from the "permanent" marks first, before using up "temporary" marks. 

This isn't just a good idea... :-) 
This is the official ruling. 

John Hart 
Precedence 

   EXAMPLE 3:

If "Marks Count Double": Each mark that you actually have is counted twice. If you purge a mark, you must purge one of your "real" marks. Then each one real one you have left is still counted twice. 

This set of rulings was compiled from posts by Doug Williamson (Ranger), Dave Hewitt and John Hart (Prececence Publishing) to the newsgroup rec.games.trading-cards.misc. Minor edits for clarity were made by Mike Prasek.

Go Back to Top

Targeting

Question: If I initiate an Intrigue conflict and I have a fleet with text that states "Can only participate in conflicts targeting you" can I use Level the Playing Field on this fleet to support my conflict?? 

Answer :No. Level the Playing Field doesn't lift any restrictions other than what ability can be used by the target in the conflict. 

Question: If my opponent plays a conflict that is one of those everybody-can-support-themselves conflicts and I have a fleet with text that states "Can only participate in conflicts targeting you" can I use Level the Playing Field on this fleet to support myself in my opponent's conflict?? 

Answer: No, as above. 

This set of rulings was compiled from a post by Dave Green (Ranger). Minor edits for clarity were made by Mike Prasek.

Go Back to Top

Official Card Clarification:

Border Raid: Initiator and Target may only rotate ONE card to 
   participate in this conflict, and it must be a fleet. Level the 
   Playing Field will NOT help this conflict. (Leaders may still lead 
   the fleets, and thus become extra particpants.) 
 
 

Go Back to Top

Official Rules Clarifications:

Sustaining can only be done if:

1. There was no cost for the action to be sustained other than 
     rotating the card in question. 
2. All necessary requirements for the initiator and the target are 
     still fulfilled. 
3. The action being sustained increases an ability of a character or 
     fleet. 

   Also, there is no end of turn gap in the effect. Any ability that is 
being aided is continuously aided, even if the card providing the aid 
has the phrase "until the end of the turn" on it. 
 
 

Go Back to Top

Replacing:

   The term "replacing" used in reference to agendas is completely 
unrelated to replacing characters, which is the definition in the 
Glossary. Replaced agendas DO NOT leave play. When replacing an 
agenda, put the new agenda into play from your hand (while rotating an 
inner circle character), and remove the old agenda to the discard 
pile. 

   If a Limited character is replaced, NO copy of that character may come 
spin to play ever again (treat the character as if it had become 
Unique). 

   If a Multiple character is replaced, that copy leaves play, but no 
other copy of the card is affected. (there are no examples of this 
currently, but just in case...). 
 
 

Go Back to Top

Back to Main
 

 



 Hey! e-mail me! if you want to be listed in my Houston Area Player Registry, have questions or information to share.

Follow the picture links below to view the "Cream of the Crop" B5:CCG websites!

Want to join this Webring? Go to the Sign up site.

NextPreviousThe Ultimate B5:CCG Web PageThe Ultimate B5:CCG Webring is owned by David Nickels.
This Ultimate B5:CCG Webring site is owned by Mike Prasek

Babylon 5, characters, names, and all related indicia are trademarks of Time Warner Entertainment Co., LP.
(c) 1993-98 Time Warner Entertainment Co., LP. and Warner Bros. All Rights Reserved.
Game Design (c) 1997 Precedence