THS Athletic Department Releases 2015
Warrior Football Schedule

Posted June 17, 2015 by

The Tehachapi High School Athletic Department recently finalized the 2015 Warrior football schedule. The new schedule is identical the 2014 schedule only home-and-away locations are flip-flopped.

For the second straight year, the Warriors will participate in the rugged South Yosemite League (SYL) after leaving the Southeast Yosemite League (SEYL) in 2013. Tehachapi finished 3-2 in the SYL last season.

The pre-league is also the same as the Warriors open up the new season at Foothill-Bakersfield on August 28. Tehachapi defeated Foothill last season, 42-12, holding a commanding 10-1 lead in the overall series.

In Week 2, the Warriors will host Burroughs High School from Ridgecrest. Tehachapi leads the overall series against the Burros, a member of the Desert Sky Conference, 14 to 9. In 2014, the Burros defeated the Warriors 35-21.

The Warriors will again be home in Week 3 against Division I power Centennial-Bakersfield. Last year the Hawks manhandled the Warriors 35-21. The Hawks lead the overall series, 3-0.

In Week 4, the Warriors continue their long time series with former South Sequoia League (SSL) opponent Arvin. Tehachapi leads the series, 20-4, defeating Arvin in 2014, 35-7, in Tehachapi.

After a "bye" week, the Warriors play their final non-league game in Bakersfield on October 2 against North High School in Oildale. The Warriors lead the overall series 7-1, defeating North in 2014, 28-20.

The 2015 schedule features a 10 game season format, with five pre-season games and five South Yosemite League games; including a five home games at Coy Burnett Field. Ridgeview is the defending SYL champion from 2014.

The dean of Kern County coaches, Steve Denman, will return for his 34th season as the head coach of the Warrior program. Denman has amassed a career 288-109-4 coaching record enroute to 14 league championships, 6 CIF runner-up finishes, and 7 CIF championships.

2015 Regular Season Schedule (Click On Individual Opponent For Series History)
Aug 28Foothill (Bakersfield)  00 00 AThe Warriors lead the series, 10-1.
Sep 4Burroughs (Ridgecrest) 00 00HThe Warriors lead the series, 14-9.
Sep 11Centennial (Bakersfield) 00 00H The Golden Hawks lead the series, 3-0.
Sep 18Arvin  00 00AThe Warriors lead the series, 20-4.
Sep 25Bye
Oct 2North High (Bakersfield) 00 00A The Warriors lead the series, 7-1.
Oct 9Independence (Bakersfield) * 00 00 AThe Warriors lead the series, 1-0.
Oct 16East High (Bakersfield) * 00 00 HThe Warriors lead the series, 12-3.
Oct 23Golden Valley (Bakersfield) * 00 00 HThe series is tied, 2-2.
Oct 30Ridgeview (Bakersfield) * 00 00 HThe Warriors lead the series, 4-1.
Nov 6West High (Bakersfield) * 00  00AThe Warriors lead the series, 4-1.

* Denotes South Yosemite League Game

You can e-mail the webmaster regarding this column at