1985-86 Warriors

Desert-Inyo League Champions
League Record: 10-0 (17-6 Overall)

The 1985-86 Warriors include, left to right, top row, Mark Muell, Randy Reese, Todd Perkins, Jon Barron, Dirk Mitchell, Corey Tucker, Chris Olofson,
bottom row, Carl Nobles, Jeff Lynch, Steve Vukick, Dwain Peters, Bret Oberg, Skip Jacovino, Scott Kimsey, and Norman Villanueva.

Warriors Win DIL With Perfect 10-0 Record
Jeff Lynch and Brett Oberg Named Co-MVP's

Under veteran head coach Bill Carll, the 1985-86 Warriors won a DIL championship with a perfect 10-0 record. The undefeated season was the first time a Warrior team had gone undefeated since joining the DIL in 1957-58. In fact, the last time the Warriors went undefeated in league play was in 1956 in the old South Sierra League!

For Carll, the 1985-86 season would be his last as a boys varsity head coach. Carll coached ten years finishing with a final career 89-34 record in league play, winning 3 DIL championships, and going 5-6 in CIF post-season playoff games. Carll had two different stints with the Warriors, first for seven years from 1972-73 until 1979, and then for three years from 1983-84 to 1986.

The Warriors started slow in the pre-season, winning 6 and losing 5. In the annual Kern County Tournament in Bakersfield, Tehachapi went 1-2, finishing in 7th place. Tehachapi improved in the annual Bishop Tournament, finishing in 3rd place with wins over Village Christian and host Bishop.

In league play, the 10-0 perfect record included five different games where the Warriors won by 6 or less points. Two dramatic games included an overtime 63-60 win at Bishop and another 71-68 overtime win at Kern Valley.

The Warriors played Buckley of Sherman Oaks in the first round of the CIF playoffs. Before a delighted home town crowd, Tehachapi won the game on a last second 15 foot shot by Chris Olofson. Oberg led the Warriors with a team high 17 points.

The Warrior season came to an end in the second round though, as an undefeated (24-0) Whittier Christian team derailed the Warriors, 84-45.

For their outstanding play throughout the season, seniors Lynch and Oberg were named the co-MVP's of the team for the second straight year.

Click Here For
FROM 1958-1992

Pre-Season Play

Dec 2Garces (Bakersfield) 54 46 AJeff Lynch & Corey Tucker: 16 pts
Dec 3Rosamond 02 00 H
Dec 10Shafter 46 66 AJeff Lynch: 19 pts
Dec 13Trona 02 00A
Dec 19Montclair Prep (Van Nuys) ## 39 71ACorey Tucker: 11 pts
Dec 20Kern Valley (Lake Isabella) ##  52 59ACorey Tucker: 14 pts (OT)
Dec 21Wasco ## 44 37AChris Olofson: 16 pts
Dec 26Village Christian ## 44 40ANorman Villanueva: 11 pts
Dec 27Chadwick (Palos Verdes) ## 40 67ACorey Tucker: 9 pts
Dec 28Bishop ## 54 52ABret Oberg: 13 pts
Jan 10Taft 42 62HBret Oberg: 11 pts

Desert-Inyo League Play

Jan 14Desert (Edwards AFB) * 48 39H
Jan 17Paraclete (Lancaster) * 47 43AJeff Lynch: 11 pts
Jan 21Kern Valley (Lake Isabella) * 75 45HJeff Lynch: 11 pts
Jan 24Bishop * 63 60 ABret Oberg: 18 pts (OT)
Jan 28Mojave * 66 51HCorey Tucker: 16 pts
Feb 3Desert (Edwards AFB) * 55 43ACorey Tucker: 11 pts
Feb 7Paraclete (Lancaster) * 55 43HBret Oberg: 20 pts
Feb 8Bishop * 57 51HBret Oberg: 19 pts
Feb 11Kern Valley (Lake Isabella) * 71 68ACorey Tucker: 19 pts (3 OT)
Feb 13Mojave * 63 57A

## 21st Annual Kern County Tournament     ## 8th Annual Bishop High Tournament     * League Game

CIF Southern Section 1A Playoffs

Feb 21Buckley (Sherman Oaks) 60 59HBret Oberg: 17 pts
Feb 28Whittier Christian 45 84ABret Oberg: 7 pts