1982-83 Warriors

Desert-Inyo League Champions
League Record: 9-1 (18-4 Overall)

The 1982-83 Warriors include, left to right, Jim Clark, Sean Adams, Tony Kramer, Mike Holm, Todd, Hiebert, Brent Hunt, John Anderson,
Mike Duplan, Casey Villicana, Casey Hawn, Layne Sessions, Raymond Tomasko, Paul Villicana, Jack Reese, and Marty Holm.
The head coach was Frank Crumpacker and the assistant was Darrell Pettitt.

Back-to-Back DIL Titles For Tehachapi
Anderson and Hawn Named Co-MVP's

Under fourth year coach Frank Crumpacker, the 1982-83 Warriors won the Desert-Inyo League (DIL) title, giving Tehachapi
back-to-back DIL championships for the first time since joining the league in 1958.

For the season, the Warriors finished at 18-4, marking the eleventh time in twelve years Tehachapi had an overall season winning record.
The 18 win season was also the most victories in one season since the 1976-77 team won 19 games.

For Crumpacker, it would be his final season as the boys head basketball coach. In four years, his Warrior teams went 29-11 in DIL play and 55-31 overall.
Crumpacker guided the Warriors to two DIL titles and three straight post-season CIF playoff appearances.

In the pre-league season of December, Tehachapi was impressive with a 7-2 record. In the annual Rosamond Tournament,
the Warriors won three straight games over Beverly Hills Prep, Boron, and Rosamond to win the tournament title.

The following week in the annual Kern County Tournament in Bakersfield, the Warriors finished in 2nd place after defeating both Garces and Shafter,
but lost to Taft in the championship game. Anderson, Hawn, and Hiebert were selected to the all-tournament team.

The Warriors elected not to participate in the annual Bishop Tournament and had several weeks off before beginning league play
on January 7, 1983 against Rosamond.

In league play, Tehachapi ran away with the league title at 9-1 for the season. The Warriors had a few close games with Rosamond,
and one nail biter with Mojave. The only loss came on the final night of the season against Boron.

In post-season play, the Warriors played host to LA Lutheran. Lutheran upset the higher seeded Warriors, 49-47,
despite the 19 point effort by KC Hawn.

For their outstanding play throughout the season, center John Anderson (6'5") and guard KC Hawn were named the Co-MVP's
of the team by the Warrior coaching staff.

Click Here For
FROM 1958-1992

Pre-Season Play

Dec 3Kern Valley (Lake Isabella) 52 40HTodd Hiebert: 21 pts.
Dec 7McFarland 45 40ATodd Hiebert: 14 pts.
Dec 9Beverly Hills Prep ## 67 30AJohn Anderson: 12 pts
Dec 10Boron ## 49 38ATodd Hiebert: 25 pts
Dec 11Rosamond ## 49 33ATodd Hiebert: 16 pts
Dec 14Shafter 60 62HTodd Hiebert: 16 pts
Dec 15Garces (Bakersfield) ## 60 49AJohn Anderson: 19 pts
Dec 16Shafter ## 50 44AKC Hawn: 18 pts
Dec 17Taft ## 39 48AJohn Anderson: 18 pts

Desert-Inyo League Play

Jan 7Rosamond * 46 39HKC Hawn: 14 pts
Jan 11Desert (Edwards AFB) * 80 60AKC Hawn & Todd Hiebert: 23 pts
Jan 14Mojave * 43 39HJohn Anderson: 12 pts
Jan 15Bishop ## 45 46H
Jan 18Paraclete * 63 22ATodd Hiebert: 16 pts
Jan 20Boron * 48 27AKC Hawn: 12 pts
Jan 25Rosamond * 44 40ATodd Hiebert: 12 pts
Jan 27Desert (Edwards AFB) * 47 43HJohn Anderson: 17 pts
Feb 1Mojave * 63 36AKC Hawn: 18 pts
Feb 4Paraclete (Lancaster) * 58 45HKC Hawn: 26 pts
Feb 5Bishop ## 59 56AKC Hawn: 21 pts
Feb 8Boron * 46 51HKC Hawn: 16 pts

## Rosamond Tournament     ## Kern County Tournament     ## Non-League Games     * League Game

CIF Southern Section 1A Playoffs

Feb 17LA Lutheran  47 49HKC Hawn: 19 pts