1981-82 Warriors

Desert-Inyo League Champions
League Record: 9-1 (15-7 Overall)

The 1981-82 Warriors include, left to right, Dan Wells, Todd Hiebert, Benji Stoebner, Kelly Harrington, Scott Hiebert,
John Anderson, Tim Hanna, Casey Hawn, Gilbert Villanueva, Paul Villacana, and Mike Holm.

Warriors Win DIL Championship In 1982
Harrington and Hiebert Named Co-MVP's

Under third year coach Frank Crumpacker, the 1981-82 Warriors won the Desert-Inyo League (DIL) south division with a 9-1 record.
The league championship was the first DIL title in five years (1976-77), and just the fourth title since joining the DIL in 1958.

For the season, the Warriors finished at 15-7, marking the tenth time in eleven years Tehachapi had an overall season winning record.

Bishop Union won the northern division of the DIL for their 11th straight DIL championship.

In the pre-league season, Tehachapi finished at 6-5. In the annual Kern County Tournament in Bakersfield, the Warriors went 2-1 to win
the Consolation Championship. After dropping the opening game to Shafter, Tehachapi came back to defeat both Maricopa and Kern Valley.

In the Bishop Tournament, the Warriors lost two straight games to Bishop and Shafter. The Shafter loss was the third straight time
the Warriors had lost to the Generals in the pre-season.

In league play, the Warriors coasted to the title with a number of dominating wins. The lone loss was a one point defeat to the Desert Scorpions
in overtime in Tehachapi. The only other close game was a narrow two point win over Boron.

In post-season play, the Warriors played host to the Paso Robles Bearcats. Paso Robles stunned the Warriors on the mountain, 72-53,
to end the season. Scott Hiebert led the Warriors in scoring with 16 points.

For their outstanding play throughout the season, Kelly Harrington and Todd Hiebert were named the Co-MVP's of the team by the Warrior coaching staff.

Click Here For
FROM 1958-1992

Pre-Season Play

Dec 1Maricopa 58 31HGilbert Villanueva: 14 pts
Dec 4Kern Valley (Lake Isabella) 48 43HTodd Hiebert: 21 pts.
Dec 8Highland (Bakersfield) 39 64AGilbert Villanueva: 10 pts
Dec 10McFarland 60 34HGilbert Villanueva: 19 pts
Dec 16Shafter 51 69AScott Hiebert: 14 pts
Dec 17Shafter ## 35 51AKelly Harrington: 7 pts
Dec 18Maricopa ## 59 36ATodd Hiebert: 10 pts
Dec 19Kern Valley (Lake Isabella) ## 76 57ATodd Hiebert: 21 pts
Dec 27Bishop ## 45 46AScott Hiebert: 15 pts
Dec 28Shafter ## 44 56AKelly Harrington: 12 pts
Jan 5Kern Valley (Lake Isabella) 43 40AKelly Harrington: 13 pts.

Desert-Inyo League Play

Jan 8Boron * 55 34AScott Hiebert: 12 pts.
Jan 12Rosamond * 86 68ABen Stoebner: 28 pts.
Jan 14Desert (Edwards AFB) * 58 59HScott Hiebert: 16 pts. (OT)
Jan 19Mojave * 55 47AScott Hiebert: 19 pts.
Jan 26Boron * 50 48HScott Hiebert: 20 pts.
Jan 29Rosamond * 66 52HScott Hiebert: 21 pts.
Feb 2Desert (Edwards AFB) * 62 52AKelly Harrington: 23 pts.
Feb 5Mojave * 73 52HScott Hiebert: 13 pts.
Feb 9Paraclete (Lancaster) * 71 51AKelly Harrington: 20 pts.
Feb 12Paraclete (Lancaster) * 63 57HBen Stoebner: 22 pts.

## Kern County Tournament     ## Bishop Tournament     * League Game

CIF Southern Section 1A Playoffs

Feb 19Paso Robles 53 72HScott Hiebert: 16 pts