San Miguel Archangel Minor Basilica, built in 1600,
is the second biggest and most beautiful church in the Philippines.
It also boasts of the longest aisle, measuring 103 meters. At the
belfry is an old clock installed in 1818, which is still working.
It is the only one of its kind in Asia. The church houses many beautiful
and priceless antique religious images and icons, chandeliers, wall
ornaments, lamps, and altar. BeTayabasins' concern to preserve legacy,
the church still has most of its original parts.
structure of this church was made of bamboo, nipa (coconut-leaf-like
roofing material) and anahaw (palm) built by Fransciscan priests
in 1585. In 1600, a more permanent brick church was built but was
damaged by an earthquake in 1743. It was again rebuilt and enlarged
in 1586 where a cupola and a transept were added. The brick roof
of the transept was replaced by a galvanized iron roof in 1894.