Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Cartilaginous Fish

Please choose an order from the table below:

Frilled and Cow Sharks Bullhead Sharks Mackerel Sharks
Carptesharks Ground Sharks Dogfish Sharks
Angel Sharks Sawsharks Saw Fish
Guitarfish Electric Rays Skates
Stingrays and Eagle Rays Chimaeras

Class Chondrichthyes

Fish are all members of the phylum Chordata, sub-phylum Vertebrata. Fish are generally spindle-shaped, oval, and flattened either sideways or dorsal-ventrally. The skin is covered in protective scales, with some exceptions (lampreys, ocean sunfish). All fish have fins of some sort, although the size, number, and shape vary. Fish breathe through gills, and only a very few have actual lungs. Most fish have a special organ known as a swimbladder that prevents them from sinking, and, in some cases, aids in respiration. The common name "fish" refers to four different classes, including Chondrichthyes.

The class Chondrichthyes is composed of 600 spp, divided in two subclasses: Elasmobranchii and Holocephali. Elasmobranchii is made up of the most common cartilaginous fish: rays and sharks. Elasmobranchii has 13 orders:

Hexanchiformes (frilled and cow sharks)
Heterodontiformes (bullhead sharks)
Lamniformes (mackerel sharks)
Orectolobiformes (carpetsharks)
Carcharhiniformes (ground sharks)
Squaliformes (dogfish sharks)
Pristiophoriformes (sawsharks)
Squatiniformes (angel sharks)
Rajiformes (skates)
Pristiformes (saw fish)
Rhinobatiformes (guitarfish)
Torpediniformes (electric rays)
Myliobatiformes (stingrays, eagle rays)

Holocephali has 1 order:

Chimaeriformes (chimaeras, rabbitfish) 30 spp