Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Mackerel Sharks

Please choose an animal from the list below:

Family Megachasmidae


Megamouth Shark

Order Lamniformes

This order consists of several familiar shark species and several unfamiliar shark species. These sharks are collectively known as mackerel sharks. They can be found from intertidal areas to open ocean in the Atlantic, Pacific, etc. Mackerel sharks can be distinguished from other sharks in that they have 5 gill slits, 2 dorsal fins lacking spines, and an anal fin. They lack nictitating membranes (a third clear eyelid), and have an excellent sense of smell. There are 16 species that vary greatly in size, from the 2 foot goblin shark to the 10 foot great white. Their diet also varies, from being ravenous meat eaters to mild-tempered filter-feeders. There are 7 families:

Lamnidae (great white sharks, mako sharks, porbeagles) 5 spp
Alopiidae (thresher sharks) 3 spp
Cetorhinidae (basking sharks) 1 spp
Odontaspididae (sand tiger sharks) 4 spp
Mitsukurinidae (goblin sharks) 1 spp
Megachasmidae (megamouth sharks) 1 spp
Pseudocarchariidae (crocodile sharks) 1 spp