A British territory which is self-governing. From 1930 a completely independent territory. These were at first the "Old Commonwealth" : Canada, Australia , New Zealand, South Africa. Later other independent territories were called Dominions.

Usually it is now used for those countries of which the British monarch is the Head of State, which include Papua New Guinea, Bahamas, Grenada. Australia held a referendum on becoming a republic in 2000 but people voted against it. Canada's official title is Dominion, whereas that of Australia is Commonwealth.

Last revised 16/01/08


World Info


Return to the top

Since 14/10/11

eXTReMe Tracker