Site hosted by Build your free website today!

97-98 NSHL Statistics

Final 1997-98 NSHL Standing

Hearst Elans 28 22 6 0 207 88 44
Aguasabon River Rats 28 16 11 1 136 150 33
Marathon Renegades 28 12 14 2 145 156 26
Longlac Merchants 28 10 17 1 142 191 21
Wawa Travellers 28 9 17 2 123 167 20

1997-98 Playoff Results


Longlac vs Hearst - Hearst wins best of seven series 4 games to 0.

Marathon vs Aguasabon - Marathon wins best of seven series 4 games to 2.

NSHL Finals

Marathon vs Hearst - Hearst wins best of seven series 4 games to 0.

1997-98 NSHL Award Winners

History of "North of Superior Hockey League"

As the North of Superior Junior ''B" Hockey League enters its third season, there is an extremely high level of optimism from all involved in the League.

Since it's inception, the NSHL's primary goals are to provide young men between the ages of 16 to 21, an opportunity to play hockey at a competitive level in the North as well as provide communities some entertainment during the long winter months.

The NSHL was the brain-child of Chris Joubert of Terrace Bay. Joubert served as NSHL President for the first two years of the league's existence. Joubert had to submit his resignation last spring due to work commitments. But before he left, he left his mark.

The NSHL had four franchises when it started out in the 1996-97 season: the Aguasabon (Terrace Bay) River Rats, the Longlac Merchants, the Marathon Renegades and the Wawa Travellers. In 1996-97, the Marathon Renegades won the inaugural League Championship in an exciting best of five series.

Then, last season, the NSHL welcomed the Hearst Elans into the fold. The Elans, who previously played in a Quebec league, were simply the class of the NSHL last year as they captured the Championship in only their first season of operation. To the Elans credit, they then advanced to the Northwestern Ontario Playdowns against Thunder Bay's city champion and the Elans defeated the city from the Lakehead to move on to the Western Canadians in Winnipeg. The Elans took the bronze medal after a third place finish. This feat is truly remarkable for a first year team in a two year old league.

With Joubert's resignation, the NSHL elected Claude Montfort of Marathon as it's second President. Montfort, who is a police officer, originally hails from Iroquois Falls leads the North of Superior Hockey League into the next century.

The 1998-99 NSHL will see the same five teams compete for the Royal Goodyear Cup, symbolic of Junior B supremacy along the Superior coast. President Montfort and the Executive are also looking at expanding the League to other communites in the near future.

With hockey playing such an important role in the lives of Northern Ontarios, the NSHL will continue their efforts in providing top notch Junior "B" hockey for the people of the North!

Roster | 98-99 Schedule | 97-98 Sats

Info & Tickets | Stuff | Main