Site hosted by Build your free website today!


Ferrari needs no introduction, nor does the "Horse Rampant" insignia which their cars sport. The company started by Enzo Ferrari in 1948 and now based at Maranello, Italy makes the most sought after cars on the planet. Their road cars are all based on and backed by Formula 1 racing experience, making them unique. The racing team "Scuderia Ferrari" has the dedicated fan base in Italy named the Tifosi, who passionately support the team. The red colour associated with Ferrari cars is a throwback to the early parts of this century, it being assigned to Italian cars racing in Grand Prix by the International Automobile Federation. In 1981 the Formula 1 racing team moved to a dedicated plant next to the Fiorano test track, previously being based at the Maranello factory. Some racing car components are however still manufactured at Maranello.

The current Chairman of Ferrari is Italian Luca di Montezemolo while the Racing Management Director is Frenchman Jean Todt. When Schumacher moved from Benetton to Ferrari in 1996, Englishmen Technical Director Ross Brawn and Chief Designer Rory Byrne followed.

The driver line up for the team had until this year, since 1996 been German Michael Schumacher and Irishman Eddie Irvine. Schumacher was the number 1 team driver and Irvine the number 2. This was contractually stipulated and Irvine had to defer to Schumacher in a race should the situation arise (and it has on several occasions). Although Irvine started out publically stating his happiness for this situation and supporting it, during 1999 in particular he has been outspoken against both it and at times Schumacher.

This year Rubens Barrichello swapped teams from Stewart (now Jaguar) with Irvine to partner Michael. This was an inevitable move, not least because Irvine had, during Michael's absence due to inhury in 1999, made some disparaging remarks about him. Barrichello came to the team announcing that he was not a number two to Schuey, which many people found this hard to believe. In confident style Michael stated that the driver who proved fastest would be team number one. Di Montezemolo clarified the situation by stating that the team had a number "1A" and a number "1B" driver.

The most successful of Formula 1 teams, they have won constructor's championships in the folowing years: 1961, 1964, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1979, 1982 and 1983. They have won driver's championships with Alberto Ascari in 1952 & 1953, Juan Manuel Fangio in 1956, Mike Hawthorn in 1958, Phil Hill in 1961, John Surtees in 1964 and Niki Lauda in 1975 & 1977. They last won the championship in 1979 with Jody Scheckter and are desperately trying to regain it once again.