Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Jensen Ackles

Where I'm from: I was born and raised in Dallas. My birthday: March 1, 1978. How tall: 6' 0". Color Eyes: Hazel. Favorite time of the year: Definitely Christmas---the holidays, the cold, the lights, the spirit. How I became interested in acting: My father (Alan Ackles) is an actor in Dallas. I grew up around the business---not in the sense that I was going to productions all the time, but just knowing about the industry, having my father around the house, and seeing him study scripts. Pets: My dog Dallas. Fads I've recently tried: Snowboarding. Favorite actor: Harrison Ford. Favorite actress: Meg Ryan. How I got discovered: When I was a sophomore, a friend asked me to go to a local acting seminar with him. Two guys (Ackles' future manager, Craig Wargo, and agent, Michael Einfeld) were very interested in me and wanted me to come out to L.A. I wanted to finish high school before doing anything like that. I figured they'd just forget about me, but they kept after me for two years. Favorite Snacks: Gummi Bears and fruit smoothies. Greatest fear: Changing who I am. Becoming too Hollywood. How I want to spend New Year's Eve 1999: With all my close friends in Texas. Favorite TV Show: Party of Five. Role model: I look to my dad a lot. He gives me great advice. And he has the best sense of humor. What it's working with Ali Sweeney and Christie Clark: Ali and Christie (who play Sami and Carrie) have both made me feel so comfortable. We hit it off right off the bat, so it's been easy to play brother/sister with them. We [hang out] at work. Ali's asked me to go to lunch with her several times, and Christie's come by my dressing room just to talk. It's been nice. Favorite singer: Garth Brooks. If I could only keep one household appliance, it would be: Refrigerator. Something you'd be surprised to know about me: I make the best fruit smoothie ever. What I miss most about Texas?: The open space. What I liked to do in High School: I was a jock in high school. I played on the baseball and lacrosse teams. I started taking theater classes just for the fun of it. I was the only jock in the theater department. Favorite CD: Steve Miller Band's Greatest Hits. Favorite food: Pasta, preferably penne with red meat sauce. Least favorite food: Sushi. Favorite comfort food: Chicken noodle soup. How I made the decision to move to California: Before I graduated, I came out to Los Angeles for two weeks to see what the industry was about. I was already registered to go to Texas Tech University. I had my classes all set, I had a roomate, the whole deal. Then, I booked my first audition---a guest spot on Sweet Valley High. I ended up booking an independent film, too, but I wasn't able to do it because I wasn't going to be in town long enough. After that, my manager and agent told me I really needed to be out here. I was still pretty skeptical, so I went home and talked to my parents. I realized that if I would always wonder what I could have done. I decided to come out here for a semester or two. If nothing happened, I would go back home and go to school. I moved out here in Sept. of '96. First thing I do when I wake up in the morning: Throw the alarm clock across the room. Favorite song: Freebird, by Lynyrd Skynyrd. Favorite item of clothing: Abercrombie & Fitch cap. The nicest thing anyone's ever done for me: My grandmother sends me notes and cards once a week so I don't get homesick. My first real break in Hollywood: I tested for my first nighttime series, the NBC comedy Mr. Rhodes, and booked it. I played Malcolm, one of the students. It went 18 weeks. It was really cool to get my first steady job. I was able to support myself out here right away. Nobody knows I can: Sing. Greatest achievement: Living on my own in Los Angeles. If I couldn't be an actor: I'd be in school stuying sports medicine. What would be your dream date?:"Having an incredible candlelight dinner and then riding horses on top of the Hollywood Hills." How I got on Days of Our Lives: I started auditioning for Days of our Lives April 1, but didn't actually start taping until July. My first day, I walked into my dressing room, and there was a stack of about 50 envelopes waiting for me---fan mail. It was a little overwhelming. I was like 'This must not be my room.' But it was. It was crazy. I read every single letter. Cause I most believe in: Strong family foundation. If I had one wish: That I could fly. Most treasured posession: My pink stuffed pig. Favorite Movies: The Indiana Jones Trilogy and Goodwill Hunting. What I would eat for my last meal and who I would share it with: I would eat the biggest steak and the biggest potato I could find. I would share it with my family. Favorite charity: Young Life. It's a Christian organization for high school teens, a youth ministry. They offer outings and ski trips, and have a camp. Last thing I do before I go to bed: Say my prayers. Best quality: My best trait is that I'm patient easy to get along with. Worst quality: I'm very, very competitive, especially with video games. What it was like when I first started working on Days of Our Lives My first scenes were with Drake Hogestyn and Deidre Hall (John and Marlena). They gave me the bigwigs on the show to break me in, and they did. They were both very nice. They came up to me, introduced themselves, and said, 'Welcome to the family.' That made me feel at home. If I could live anywhere, it'd be: On a ranch in the Colorado mountains. What I dislike most about my appearance: Hair. Greatest love: Football. Favorite Book: The Bible. My most embarassing moment: I was about 13 at the time, doing a photo shoot for a catalogue on the Southern Methodist University campus. The jeans were about three sizes too small, so they cut out the back and opened the leg---it looked fine from the front but the back was missing. Suddenly, the period bell rang, and the students flooded out of every building as I stood there with my rear end hanging out. It was not a fun moment! My most dreaded household chore: Cleaning the toilet. With three guys in one house, it can be a little disgusting. Smartest thing I ever did: Finish high school before moving to L.A. Quality I like most in a mate: Sense of humor. My hero: My dad. Most treasured possession: A necklace. When my best friend was killed by a drunk driver, everyone in our circle had his initials tattooed on their ankle. Being in acting, I made a beaded necklace in his honor instead. It's blue, his favorite color, and black. What makes me angry: Running late, getting caught in traffic and being delayed. Biggest regret: None so far. Superstar Superstar Back to Index