Matilda Mother

Matilda Mother

June 29, 1967 at Abbey Road Studio #3, London, England
Syd Barrett - lead vocal (verses 2, 4 and 5), guitars
Roger Waters - bass guitar, background vocals
Richard Wright - lead vocal (verses 1-4), Farfisa organ, piano
Nick Mason - drums

There was a king who ruled the land
His majesty was in command
With silver eyes the scarlet eagle
Showered silver on the people
Oh Mother tell me more

Why'd you have to leave me there
Hanging in my infant air, waiting
You only have to read the lines of
Scribbly black and everything shines

Across the stream with wooden shoes
Bells to tell the king the news
A thousand misty riders
Climb up higher once upon a time

Wondering and dreaming
The words had different meanings
Yes they did...

For all the time spent in that room
The doll's house darkness old perfume
And fairy stories held me high
On clouds of sunlight floating by
Oh Mother tell me more
Tell me more...