1985 Warriors

The 1985 CIF Champion Warriors include Jeff Leiva, Norman Villanueva, Richard Dieterle, Bret Oberg, Shawn Robinson, Carl Nobles,
Eddie Marshall, Pat Snyder, Jon Barron, Rick Vance, William Richardson, Marcos Curiel, Jake Hogue, David Young,
Danny Teague, Kenny Ary, Ricardo Murguia, Richard Dreith, Scott Wells, Mark Ogilvie, John Roemer, Tony Aguilar, Kent Frisius, Scott Frisius,
Scott Small, James Bryant, Terry deMontemorncy, Mark Heard, John Lewis, Leslie Love, Lamce Lopex, Dirk Mitchell, Gary Cooper, Robbie Cummings,
Dwayne Peters, John Huston, Robert Kovach, and Fernando Zendejas. The coaching staff includes head coach Steve Denman,
assistant coaches Frank Crumpacker, Dennis Ruggles, Ricky Dotson, and Cliff Wiggins.

Warriors Win CIF Championship in 1985
Tehachapi 17 Montclair Prep 7

For the second time in the school's history, the Warriors won a CIF Southern Section championship (the other CIF championship was in 1980). The Warriors, under 4th year head coach Steve Denman, finished the season with an overall 12-2 season record; 4-1 in league play; and 4-0 in the CIF playoffs.

The Warriors breezed through their first three non-league games defeating Boron, 33-8; Rosamond 28-7; and Wasco 27-6. The Warriors made a statement that they were the real deal in 1985 led by a large quick line, a stingy defense, and returning senior starters Bret Oberg at quarterback and Patrick Snyder at running back.

The first true test of the season was against South Sierra League (SSL) powerhouse Shafter. The Warriors held off a late Shafter rally to win the game, 21-20. After scoring their last touchdown late in the game, the Generals went for the 2 point conversion to win the game, instead of the 1 point PAT to tie the game. The conversion attempt failed, and the Warriors remained undefeated at 4-0.

The Warriors next game was against undefeated Garces in Bakersfield. The highly touted Rams, who would eventually win the SSL, stifled the Warriors running game holding Snyder to a season low of 22 yards in 8 carries. Oberg went to the air to complete 9 of 21 passes for 99 passing yards, including a 14 yard TD pass to Gary Cooper. Garces won the game in a convincing manner, 24-7.

In league play, the Warriors outscored their first two opponents by a combined score of 47-0, blanking Kern Valley, 27-0, and shutting out Bishop, 20-0. Against Kern Valley, Snyder ran for 166 yards and 2 TD's. Against Bishop, Oberg completed 11 of 22 passes for 141 passing yards and 1 TD.

Another big game on the schedule was in Lancaster as the undefeated Warriors met the unbeaten Paraclete Spirits. Despite the 190 yard passing performance by Oberg, and the 160 yard (2 TD) rushing game of Snyder, the Spirits prevailed 28-22. Paraclete would go on to win the league championship with a perfect 5-0 record.

Tehachapi trounced Mojave in their next game, 47-6, as many of the varsity reserves saw plenty of game action. In the league finale, an ever improving Snyder rushed for 176 yards and 1 TD as the Warriors nipped Desert High of Edwards AFB, 14-6.

The Warriors entered the CIF playoffs as the #2 seed from the DIL, and responded in grand fashion by overpowering LA Lutheran on the mountain, 34-0. Snyder had his best running game of the season picking up 230 yards (25 carries), and scoring 3 TD's.

Traveling to Beaumont, the Warrior defense blanked their second straight opponent in winning 22-0. Snyder stole the offensive show (169 yds, 34 carries) scoring all 22 points with 3 TD's and two 2 point conversions.

For the THIRD week in a row, the Warriors blanked a playoff opponent. This time the Warriors disappointed the hometown Cerritos crowd as Tehachapi blanked Valley Christian, 14-0. Snyder continued his amazing playoff run with 139 yards (27 carries) and 1 TD.

In the CIF championship game in Tehachapi, before an estimated 3,500 chilly fans, the Warrior defense paved the way to a 17-7 victory. Snyder had his usual solid performance with 148 yards in 38 carries, 2 TD's. Marcos Curiel, the Warriors PAT specialist all season long, chipped in with his first field goal of the season to round out the Warrior scoring.

Snyder shattered all known THS rushing records in 1985 by gaining 1,925 rushing yards (a record), on 349 carries (a record), scoring 23 touchdowns (a record), and collecting 142 total points (a record).

Oberg also had a phenominal season leading the team from his quarterback position. During the regular 10 game season, he hit on 57 of 120 passes for 891 yards and 10 TD passes --- and only threw 2 interceptions! A footnote, Bret's older brother Erik also played quarterback for the 1980 CIF champion Warriors.

Click Here For
FROM 1957-1991

Game-by-Game Results

Sep 13Boron 33 08H Patrick Snyder: 2 TD's, 172 yds. rushing
Sep 20Rosamond 28 07A Patrick Snyder: 1 TD, 144 yds. rushing
Sep 27Wasco 27 06A Patrick Snyder: 1 TD, 166 yds. rushing
Oct 4Shafter 21 20H Patrick Snyder: 2 TD's, 55 yds. rushing
Oct 11Garces (Bakersfield) 07 24A Gary Cooper: 1 TD, 14 yd. pass rec.
Oct 18Kern Valley (Lake Isabella) * 27 00H Patrick Snyder: 2 TD's, 166 yds. rushing
Oct 25Bishop* 20 00APatrick Snyder: 1 TD, 44 yds. rushing
Nov 1Paraclete (Lancaster)* 22 28APatrick Snyder: 2 TD's, 160 yds. rushing
Nov 8Mojave* 47 06HPatrick Snyder: 2 TD's, 136 yds. rushing
Nov 15Desert (Edwards AFB)* 14 06HPatrick Snyder: 1 TD, 176 yds. rushing

* Denotes League Game

CIF Southern Section Inland Conference Playoffs

Nov 22LA Lutheran 34 00H Patrick Snyder: 3 TD's, 230 yds. rushing
Nov 29Beaumont 22 00APatrick Snyder: 3 TD's, 169 yds. rushing
Dec 6Valley Christian (Cerritos) 14 00APatrick Snyder: 1 TD, 139 yds. rushing
Dec 14Montclair Prep 17 07HPatrick Snyder: 2 TD's, 148 yds. rushing