1972 Warriors

The 1972 Warriors include, bottom row, left to right, Kevin Cote, Art MacNeel, Joe Quiroga, Nick Madden, Charlie Jackson, Tim Gassaway,
Bill Robison, Tim McLaughlin, Rick Madden, Hugh Vasquez, Joe Gamboa; middle row, Charles Longcrier, Martin Aguilar, Rod Grantham,
Nick Dowell, Bill Decker, Mark Lopez, Jim Stewart, Rick Dodson, Fred Johnson, Don Burgeis, DeWayne Clough, Jim Johnson;
back row, team managers Ron McMillan and Jon Reyes, David Batson, Tom Freeman, Robert Hicks, Steve Denman, Pete Henderson,
Gerald Bidabe, James Householder, Chris Damian, Pat Summit, John Petrie, and team manager Dave McNally.

Warriors Capture 1st DIL Championship Since 1968
QB Bill Robison Earns All-CIF Honors

The 1972 Warriors captured their first DIL Championship since the 1968 season, and the sixth league title for the school since joining the DIL in 1957.

A pre-season favorite, the Warriors of coach Gary Ogilvie were stunned in their opening game of the season at Edwards AFB, 26-12, as an inspired Scorpion team led by all-league junior Gerald Small overwhelmed Tehachapi. Small would go on to star at San Jose State as a defensive back and play a number of seasons in the NFL with the Miami Dolphins.

Bill Robison scored both Warrior TD's on two different running plays of 15 yards each. Robison also completed 9 passes for 167 passing yards.

After the shocking loss to Desert, the upstart Warriors would defeat seven straight league opponents to win the Desert-Inyo League championship.

The next week at Rosamond, the Warriors defeated the Roadrunners, 25-20. Rick Madden had a huge game for the Warriors intercepting a Roadrunner pass in the fourth quarter, returning the play 21 yards for the touchdown, preserve the win. Madden also scored on a 9 yard run earlier in the game. QB Robison also scored two touchdowns on runs of 31 and 6 yards. Robison also completed 6 passes for 118 yards through the air.

In Week 3 the Warriors delighted the hometown crowd with a 39-0 blanking of rival Bishop, leading 31-0 by halftime. The scoring parade began with Robison diving into the end zone from 1 yard out for the TD; sophomore Steve Denman then scored on a 41 yard fumble recovery return; Robison then connected on back-to-back TD passes to wide receiver Charlie Jackson on plays of 43 and 11 yards; and Rick Madden returned the opening second half kickoff 62 yards for the final Warrior TD. The Warriors also scored on two safety's in the game.

In Week 4 at Boron, the Warriors bolted out to a 14-0 first half lead and held on to defeat the pesky Bobcats, 14-12. Running back Jim Stewart scored the first Warrior TD on a 1 yard dive play and DeWayne Clough scored on a 32 yard pass reception from QB Robison. Robison scored on one 2 point conversion play to seal the win. Nick Madden led the Warrior running attack with 88 yards in 25 carries. Robison also completed 5 passes for 112 yards.

The Bobcats would go on to finish in 2nd place in the DIL, and advanced to the CIF finals losing to CIF 1A champion Paso Robles.

In Week 5 on the mountain, the Warriors came back from a 6-0 deficit to defeat a fired up Mojave team 12-6. All 18 points were scored in the first half. The Warriors first scored on a Robison 1 yard run play, capping a 50 yard drive. The second Warrior TD came on a 44 yard pass play from Robison-to-Jackson.

After a bye week, the Warriors resumed play in Week 7 with a 38-22 victory over Kern Valley in Tehachapi. After jumping out to a decisive 25-7 first half lead, the Broncos stormed back to close the gap to 25-22 heading into the final quarter of play. But Tehachapi rallied for two more fourth quarter TD's while stifling the Broncos.

Tehachapi was led by Robison with two TD runs of 38 and 10 yards; Jackson also ran for a 24 yard TD; Robison connected with Jackson on a scoring strike of 40 yards; and Nick Madden scored twice on runs of 12 and 33 yards.

In Week 8, the Warriors earned a hard fought 14-6 over winless Lone Pine. Tehachapi scored the first two TD's of the game, including a Martin Aguilar TD recovery in the end zone after teammate Nick Madden fumbles trying to score from 4 yards out. A huge 44 yard pass play from Robison-to-Jackson set-up the TD play. The other Warrior TD was scored by linebacker Art McNeel on a 7 yard interception return. Rick Madden converted both PAT kicks.

In the league finale at the Trona sand pit, Tehachapi slugged their way to an 18-0 victory. Robison scored on a 1 yard TD run; Nick Madden scored on a 2 yard run play; and Robison once again connected on a 46 yard pass play to Jackson. Madden led the Warrior with 114 rushing yards in 21 carries and Robison had 5 completions for 105 passing yards.

In CIF post-season play, the Warriors defeated LA Lutheran at home in the opening round, 14-7. Rick Madden scored the first TD on a 9 yard run play, capping a 13 play, 79 yard drive, that consumed nearly 8 minutes off the clock. Robison scored the second TD on another long drive of 63 yards, finishing it off with a 1 yard plunge into the end zone. Sophomore Scott Dye, up from the junior varsity, booted both PAT kicks.

In round two, the Paso Robles Bearcats defeated Tehachapi in a game at Paso Robles, 28-7. Paso Robles would advance to the CIF 1A championship game, defeating Boron 21-6.

Against the Bearcats, the Warriors scored first on a 9 play, 86 yard drive, to take a 7-0 first quarter lead. Robison ran for 1 yard for the TD (Dye PAT), capping off the drive. The highlight of the TD march was a 39 yard pass play from Robison to Jackson. Paso Robles then proceeded to score 28 unanswered points to win the game.

Throughout the season, the Warriors were paced by quarterback Bill Robison. Robison rushed for roughly 600 yards and passed for nearly 1,000 yards to lead the Warrior offensive attack. Nick Madden was the leading rusher gaining over 800 yards.

Robison capped off his three year varsity career by being selected on the all-CIF team as well as the co-Most Valuable Player of the team. Charlie Jackson, a wide receiver and defensive back, was the other co-MVP. He caught 26 passes for 596 yards, a Tehachapi High record at the time.

The Warriors placed seven players on the all-league 1st team. They were def. end Martin Aguilar, lineman Rick Dodson, lineman Tim Gassaway, wide receiver and def. back Charlie Jackson, linebacker Art MacNeel, lineman Tim McLaughlin, and quarterback Bill Robison.

Under head coach Harry Jasper, the junior varsity Braves also had an outstanding season going undefeated with an 8-0 record. The Braves had six shutouts in outscoring their opponents 215 to 18. MVP running back Dan Stewart led the Braves with 12 TD's.

Click Here For
FROM 1957-1991

Game-by-Game Results

Sep 22Desert (Edwards AFB) 12 26ABill Robison: 2 TD's rushing
Sep 29Rosamond 25 20A Bill Robison: 2 TD's rushing
Oct 6Bishop 39 00H Charlie Jackson: 2 TD pass rec.
Oct 13Boron 14 12A DeWayne Clough: 1 TD pass rec.
Oct 20Mojave 12 06HCharlie Jackson: 1 TD pass rec.
Oct 27Bye
Nov 3Kern Valley (Lake Isabella)  38 22H Bill Robison: 2 TD's, 158 yds. rushing
Nov 10Lone Pine 13 06H Art MacNeel: 1 TD pass int. return
Nov 17Trona 18 00ANick Madden: 1 TD, 114 yds. rushing

CIF Southern Section 1A Playoffs

Nov 24LA Lutheran 14 00HBill Robison: 1 TD rushing
Dec 1Paso Robles 07 28ABill Robison: 1 TD rushing

All-CIF Warrior quarterback Bill Robison runs for big yardage against Boron.