1964 Warriors

The 1964 co-champion Warriors include, left to right, front row, Dale Witty, Mike Smith, Leonard Sanchez, Bob Kellum, Martin Bidabe, Paul Drain,
Steve Dorrington, Roger Steelman, Joel Garcia, Rick Ramos, Kerry Vosburg, second row, Monty Faulkner, Robert Gaeta, Terry Forbus, Ken Dunn,
Elliot Williams, Freddy Schmidt, Gilbert Parks, Larry Souza, Dave Clodfelter, Don Mitchell, Bob Samano, back row, Glenn Ochner, Bill Leiva, Tim Sanders,
Bill Lennert, Bob Pattison, Jerry Gassaway, Max Clayton, and Richard Goodrick.

Warriors Claim 1964 DIL Championship
Back-to-Back League Champs

The 1964 Warriors, under new head coach Pat O'Donnell, won a co-championship in the Desert-Inyo League
along with rival Bishop. The Warriors finished the season with a 6-1 league record; 6-4 overall.

The 1964 team was involved with a number of new school records --- some good and some bad.

In a non-league affair, the Warriors lost the opening game of the season to a very good McFarland team, 12-6.
With newcomers Rosamond and Paraclete (Lancaster) coming into the Desert-Inyo League in 1965 --- this would
end the long-standing tradition of playing McFarland nearly every season dating back to 1930
(the Warriors would resume playing McFarland in 1980).

Some of the bad began in Week 2, when the Warriors took it on the chin playing Burroughs High School in Ridgecrest.
Held to just 126 total yards (95 passing), Burroughs blanked the Warriors 52-0.
The 52-0 loss was the worst defeat in modern school history. The Warriors allowed 488 rushing yards
and 17 passing yards for a 505 total for the opposition. The Warriors would not play
Burroughs again until 1992.

Some of the good began in Week 3 as the Warriors crushed Kern Valley, 49-0. According to the Tehachapi News,
a school record was established when the Warriors returned THREE punts for touchdowns! Return specialist
Rick Ramos also established a record by returning two of those punts (88 and 75 yards) for TD's!
Paul Drain also established a record by successfully kicking seven straight PAT attempts.
Drain also scored 2 TD's, a 20 yard run and the other punt return for 55 yards.
Joel Garcia, Larry Souza, and Roger Steelman scored the other Warrior TD's.

Behind the impressive rushing of running back Steelman, the good continued as the Warriors reeled off
three more tough league wins over Mojave, 19-13; Trona, 21-6; and Desert, 13-6. Against Desert, Jim Herrera
caught an 18 yard TD pass from Souza while Garcia had a 2 yard plunge for the other TD.

Week 7 would be a battle of undefeated teams as the Warriors would host rival Bishop on the mountain.
In a fierce defensive battle, the Broncos scored early and late to secure a 14-0 victory.
Steelman led the Warriors with 62 yards rushing and QB Rick Ramos completed six passes for 72 yards --- but
the Warriors could not hit paydirt. It was the fifth straight game that the Broncos
had defeated the Warriors.

In Week 8, fullback senior Joel Garcia had the best game of his three-year varsity career by rushing for
105 yards and 1 TD to lead the Warriors over Boron, 14-0.

In Week 9, the final game of the regular regular season, Steelman again gained over 100 yards in leading
the Warriors past Lone Pine, 33-6. Ramos again set a school record by returning an interception 101 yards for a touchdown
late in the game for the final Warrior TD. A Bishop loss in the final week
of the season gave the jubilant Warriors a share of the league crown.

The Warriors advanced to the CIF playoffs for the second straight year and played "host" to Webb High School
of Claremont. The game was played at the neutral site of nearby Mojave High School.
The Warrior offense was limited to just 115 yards rushing, and -0- yards passing,
as Webb defeated the Warriors 14-2. The Warriors actually led 2-0 on a safety as Steve Dorrington
hauled down a Webb running back in the end zone.

Roger Steelman led the Warriors during the 64' campaign by rushing for over 600+ yards
while Garcia added an additional 300+ yards. Quarterback Rick Ramos completed 30+ passes for over 400 passing yards.

Running back Joel Garcia and offensive lineman Kerry Vosburg were selected to the all-league first team.
Larry Souza was named the Most Valuable Player of the team.

Click Here For
FROM 1957-1991

Game-by-Game Results

Sep 25McFarland * 06 12APaul Drain: 1 TD rushing
Oct 2Burroughs (Ridgecrest) * 00 52A
Oct 10Kern Valley (Lake Isabella) 49 00HRick Ramos: 2 TD's, punt returns
Oct 16Mojave 19 13A Roger Steelman: 2 TD's, 128 yds. rushing
Oct 24Trona 21 06H Jim Herrera: 2 TD's
Oct 30Desert (Edwards AFB) 13 06AJoel Garcia: 1 TD rushing
Nov 6Bishop 00 14H
Nov 13Boron 14 00H Joel Garcia: 1 TD, 105 yards rushing
Nov 20Lone Pine 33 06A Roger Steelman: 2 TD's, 106 yds. rushing

* Denotes Non League Game

CIF Southern Section Playoffs

Nov 27Webb (Claremont) 02 14N