1931 Warriors

Warriors Win First Game In School History
Tehachapi 13 Shafter 6

Under second year coach Gus Offerman, the 1931 Warriors finished with a final season record of 2-8-1. In 1931, the Sierra League consisted of McFarland, Maricopa, Shafter, Wasco, and Tehachapi.

McFarland won the Sierra League in 1931 and would eventually play Dinuba for the valley championship.

On Sep. 26, the Warriors defeated Shafter for their first win in school history, 13-6. Steve Valdez scored the first TD in school history on a 55 yard reverse play (Joe Errea PAT run). Gordon Fraser scored the other TD a few plays later on a 40 yard run play.

The Warriors had another big win on Oct. 26, shutting out Maricopa, 18-0. Valdez scored a TD on a 40 yard interception return; Gordon Fraser set a school record returning an interception 95 yards for a TD; and Byron Robineau blocked a punt in the end zone, recovering the ball for the final TD.

With the big league wins over Shafter and Maricopa, the Warriors played host to McFarland on Friday afternoon, Nov. 13 for their chance to be in first place. For this important game, all of the stores in town agreed to close down from 2:00 to 4:00 pm. Unfortunately, Tehachapi lost its first big game, 0-18.

1931 lettermen included Louie Beauford, Harry Beauford, Joe Errea, Bill Dean, Gordon Fraser, quarterback Jesus Garcia, Donald Groffin, Lyle Jacobs, Bob McDaniel, Jose Narez, Byron Robineau, and Steve Valdez.

Click Here For
FROM 1931-1956

Game-by-Game Results

Sep 19Lone Pine 00 12H
Sep 26Shafter * 13 06HFirst win in school history!
Oct 3McFarland * 07 12AByron Robineau: 1 TD rushing
Oct 9Antelope Valley (Lancaster)  L WHTehachapi loses; score unknown.
Oct 17Victorville 07 30A
Oct 24Maricopa * 18 00HGordon Fraser: 95 yd. TD int. return
Oct 31Victorville 06 12H
Nov 6Antelope Valley (Lancaster) 00 00A
Nov 13McFarland * 00 18H
Nov 21Shafter *  00 20A
Nov 26Lone Pine 06 07AJoe Cummings: 1 TD rushing, 60 yds.

* Denotes League Game