Since 1980 the Tehachapi football team has made 14 CIF championship appearances, winning seven including this season's back-to-back Central Section title. Above, ten standout Warriors of the 2008 team were presented with plaques last week at the THS football awards ceremony. Pictured above kneeling from left to right are John Charles King-Most Improved Defesnse, Jason Hail-Most Inspirational, Adam Mullen-Co-MVP, and Kurtis Knudson-winner of the Offensive Award. Standing, from left to right is Dominic Chavarria-Outstanding Lineman, Drew Howell-recipient of the Warrior Award, Josh Strauss-Co MVP, Garrett Coontz- Co-MVP, Matt Bloom-Most Improved Player, and Derek Lange Outstanding Defense. During the evening all the Warriors received letters, SSL patches, and championship T-shirts. Photo by Esther Duffy, The Tehachapi News

Annual Mountain Football Banquet Held
CIF Champs Celebrate Memorable Season

Posted by Tom Shea, The Tehachapi News on Feburary 10, 2009.

After a football season that brought home to Tehachapi their first back-to-back CIF championship since 1951-1952, the players, coaches, fans and community came together last Thursday at the THS cafeteria to celebrate history.

Players were given t-shirts, CIF championship patches and medals donated by the Warrior Booster Club and were shown a 30 minute championship video by

A handful of players came together at the end of the ceremony and presented the coaches certificates of appreciation, along with a signed championship game ball to Steve Denman, the All-Area coach of the year.

Championship hooded pullovers, short and long sleeve t-shirts, and velcro adjustable caps are available for order at M and M Sports at 760 Tucker Road (823-1668). If there are any fans interested in purchasing a championship DVD or football, please inquire to Tom Shea at

Tehachapi has won 10 CIF championships overall since 1930, including 14 championship appearances and seven titles the last 28 seasons.