Warrior head coach Steve Denman

Mullen & Strauss Earn 1st Team Honors
Denman is Coach of the Year

Posted by The Bakersfield Californian on December 27, 2008. Photo credits: Michael Fagans

It's no secret that Steve Denman knows winning -- he has coached Tehachapi to six of the school's 10 section titles in his 27 years as head coach and has a 233-91-4 record.

But he's not quite used to winning like this.

Tehachapi never had a section champion that had four losses -- or one that started 1-3 and was crippled by injuries -- or one that came from the No. 6 seed in the playoffs and played its final three games on the road.

"Every (championship) is special," Denman said. "But kind of being the underdog this year made this one really special. The kids could have given up, but they rallied."

For guiding them there, Denman is The Californian's Coach of the Year.

As different as this year was, it reaffirmed Denman's keep-it-simple philosophy.

"Injuries and those things will come and go, and we'll work through that," Denman said. "But you've got to take care of the ball and not give up big plays. That's the key."

Others considered: Doug Barnett, Bakersfield Christian; Mark Camps, North; Mike Snow, Stockdale

Senior Adam Mullen


Adam Mullen, RB

Josh Strauss, RB


Utility--Derek Lange, Tehachapi, sr, 6-0, 185

LB--Garrett Coontz, Tehachapi, sr, 5-11, 180


Dominic Chavarria, OL; Jason Hail, LB; Eric Harroun, DL


Steve Denman, Tehachapi

Senior Josh Strauss

You can e-mail the webmaster regarding this column at bigesports@yahoo.com