Warrior running back #10 Skylar Valencia sweeps down the right sideline with #7 Bobby Sharp in on the tackle. Also in the photo, from left to right,
are coach Bill Carll, Bobby Howell, #68 Gunther Murphy, #63 Zach Minton and #8 Michael Contreras. Photo by Michael Duffy, The Tehachapi News

Mountain Football Begins
Warriors Prepare For Opening Scrimmage This Friday

Posted August 13, 2012 by Tom Shea, The Tehachapi News.

The Warriors gave fans an early look at the season to come this past Saturday in a controlled intersquad scrimmage and practice at Coy Burnett Field.

Tehachapi introduced 63 players on the varsity, with returning players from last year’s team including Micah Fjeld, Dalton Scaggs, Bobby Howell, David Carter, Skylar Valencia, Anthony Napolis, Ian Neufeld, Jorge Garcia, Steven Cross, Ryle Snowder, Ethan Averett, Christian Terle, Barry Jones, Austin Riddle, Ty Curry, Ryan Flick, Bryan O’Donnell, Joseph Blewett, Blake Panek, Andrew Garber, Michael Llamas, Sam Ray, Trey Abarquez, Logan Smith, Jose Meza, Kiefer Fincher, Andrew Jimenez, Kyle Parks and manager Kenny Sharp.

“Things are coming together and we’re ready to get started,” said head coach Steve Denman. “We have some new guys and young guys that will need to step up.”

New to the team this season are seniors Michael Contreras, Rodrigo Garcia, Emilio Balassa, Jeremy Duff, Chris Perez, Cody Timm, Paul Canazzi, Austin James and Ricky Torres, juniors Bobby Sharp, Emilio Orozco, Isaiah Hutto, Matt Root, Caleab Hutto, Nathan Evans, Logan Soto, Dylan Smith, Allen Johnson, Sean Casey, Donaven Bruce, Greg Dodge, Zach Minton, Gunther Murphy, Noah Owens, Justin Baird, Adam Confer, Ben Buckley, Joseph Barba, Dakota Medovitch and Justin Handy, sophomores Chris Rhodes, Tyree White and Rocky Radcliff and freshman Angel Garcia.

“It will be a tough schedule for us this year and we’ll need to be prepared and ready to go every week,” added Denman. “There will be a lot of changes with a new league but we’re looking forward to the challenge.”

Assisting Denman on the varsity staff this year will be Dennis Ruggles, Bill Carll, Pat Snyder, Roger Davis, Chris Gray, Gary Warner, Rick Rickheim, DJ Rickheim and Michael Rickheim.

Purchase your ‘Green Seats’ at the Scrimmage

Renewal for green seats, which give fans an upgrade to the best seats at Coy Burnett Field for football games (35 yard line to 35 yard line) can be made via online payment at www.thsboosters.com. Deadline for renewing green seats on the booster site is this Thursday (Aug.16) at midnight.

If you miss the deadline for green seat renewal, please attend the THS Boosters membership drive scheduled this Friday, Aug.17 at Coy Burnett Field when the Warriors, Braves and Indians scrimmage South High. At the event you may renew your membership, renew/purchase green seats and pick up your hat and t-shirt. The Booster Club will also be accepting nominations for the upcoming officer elections.

The schedule for the green seats at the South scrimmage are as follows:

3:00-3:45 pm – Membership and green seat renewals.

4:00 pm – Green seat upgrades.

4:30 pm – Open green seats for 2012-2013 football season will be sold.