1938-39 Warriors

League Record: 0-6 (0-8 Overall)

The 1938-39 Warriors include, left to right, back row, Coach Eric Stone, Frank Partin, Jeffries, Art Madding,
front row, Milton Freeman, Captain Joe Sola, and Chesley Johnson.

The green-and-white clad Warriors, under 2nd year coach Eric Stone, finished the season with a final 0-6 league record.

Maricopa again won the Sierra League championship in the varsity heavyweight (A) division. McFarland finished in 2nd place.

Jesus Castro and John Valdez were selected to the All-Sierra League 1st team while Valdez earned All-County honors.

Of historical significance, the "B" team (middleweights) won the Sierra League title with a fine 7-1 record. This was the first basketball championship
won by any Tehachapi team in the three basketball classifications (A's, B's, and C's).

Click Here For
FROM 1930-1958

Game-by-Game Results

Dec 16Maricopa * 20 32HArthur Morentin: 7 pts
Dec 23McFarland * 22 34AJesus Castro: 11 pts
Jan 6Shafter * 00 00HPostponed due to snow.
Jan 13McFarland * 36 37HJesus Castro: 18 pts
Jan 20Squires Coffee Shop ## 16 21HRobert Jeffery: 7 pts
Jan 27Shafter * 25 27AJesus Castro: 13 pts (2 OT)
Feb 14Maricopa * 13 30A
Feb 17Bakersfield YMCA 20 24HJesus Castro: 6 pts
Feb 25Lone Pine 10 24HJesus Castro: 8 pts
Mar 3Shafter * 00 02HForfeit; disciplinary reasons.

## Exhibition Games     * League Game