Tarzan of the Apes

by Edgar Rice Burroughs

This book is the first Tarzan book released by Project Gutenberg. Also available are "The Return of Tarzan", "The Beasts of Tarzan", "The Son of Tarzan", and "Tarzan and the Jewels of Opar", -- others will be formatted and made available as (and if) they are released.

 NOTE: This is a hypertext formatted version of the Project Gutenberg edition. For more information, read the small print or check out the full ascii text. This document is part of a small, but growing collection of html formatted etexts. (Others may be found in either my home page or John Ockerbloom's indexes by author and title.)


I. Out to Sea
II. The Savage Home
III. Life and Death
IV. The Apes
V. The White Ape
VI. Jungle Battles
VII. The Light of Knowledge
VIII. The Tree-top Hunter
IX. Man and Man
X. The Fear-Phantom
XI. "King of the Apes"
XII. Man's Reason
XIII. His Own Kind
XIV. At the Mercy of the Jungle
XV. The Forest God
XVI. "Most Remarkable"
XVII. Burials
XVIII. The Jungle Toll
XIX. The Call of the Primitive
XX. Heredity
XXI. The Village of Torture
XXII. The Search Party
XXIII. Brother Men
XXIV. Lost Treasure
XXV. The Outpost of the World
XXVI. The Height of Civilization
XXVII. The Giant Again
XXVIII. Conclusion

Thomas Oughton