A Princess of Mars

by Edgar Rice Burroughs

This book is the first Barsoom book currently released by Project Gutenberg. Also available are "The Gods of Mars", "The Warlord of Mars" and "Thuvia, Maid of Mars" -- others may be formatted and made available as (and if) they are released.

 NOTE: This is a hypertext formatted version of the Project Gutenberg edition. For more information, read the small print or check out the full ascii text. This document is part of a small, but growing collection of html formatted etexts. (Others may be found in either my home page or John Ockerbloom's indexes by author and title.)


I. On the Arizona Hills
II. The Escape of the Dead
III. My Advent on Mars
IV. A Prisoner
V. I Elude my Watch Dog
VI. A Fight that Won Friends
VII. Child-raising on Mars
VIII. A Fair Captive from the Sky
IX. I Learn the Language
X. Champion and Chief
XI. With Dejah Thoris
XII. A Prisoner with Power
XIII. Love-making on Mars
XIV. A Duel to the Death
XV. Sola Tells Me her Story
XVI. We Plan Escape
XVII. A Costly Recapture
XVIII. Chained in Warhoon
XIX. Battling in the Arena
XX. In the Atmosphere Factory
XXI. An Air Scout for Zodanga
XXII. I Find Dejah
XXIII. Lost in the Sky
XXIV. Tars Tarkas Finds a Friend
XXV. The Looting of Zodanga
XXVI. Through Carnage to Joy
XXVII. From Joy to Death
XXVIII. At the Arizona Cave
Glossary of Names and Terms
Thomas Oughton