Lane Steinberg
"The Return Of Noel Coward's Ghost"

Cheft Records, 1 April 2006

01. Preamble 0:12
02. Bottlenose Dolphin [thanks for the milk] 3:01
03. Face Down 3:42
04. Away 4:30
05. Gain Luster 1:58
06. Jerichaio 3:26
07. YamYam 1:05
08. Let's Touch 2:47
09. Something Is Waiting For Someone 3:57
10. Cutlets [don't burn it] 1:18
11. You'll Never Find A Way To Get Me To Work 3:43
12. Bare Walls 4:35
13. Eye For The Ladies 3:15
14. Spring Break 2:50
15. Slight Gain 0:17
16. Beautiful Day, Take Me Away 5:15
17. One Man Crime Wave 4:14
18. The First To Learn [the last to know] 3:50
19. Concrete Vacation 4:07
20. Postscript 0:41

Performed by Lane Steinberg
Recorded at Wild Feed Studios, Forest Hills, N.Y.

Abe Heller appears on (01 & 20)
Wallace Huertas & Jeff Pollack appear on (07 & 10)

Painting: Daniel Weitz/Photo: Alla Taube

All songs 2006 Steinberg (Zalytron, BMI)
Cheft Records P.O. Box 442 Forest Hills, N.Y. 11375

WWW.TANSLEEVE.COM Cheft Records CH6922
Made In Canada

Dedicated to Billy Bauer (1915-2005)

AMPLIFIER Magazine, April 2006
CD Reviews

The Return Of Noel Coward's Ghost

Pop underground connoisseurs may fondly remember Peyote Marching Songs, Volume 1 by Noel Coward's Ghost, a 1995 album of quirky art-pop tunes that didn't stint on the melody even as one-man-band Lane Steinberg piled on the unexpected arrangement shifts, oddball lyrical twists and R. Stevie Moore-like stylistic detours. Well, this 20-track release is pretty much Peyote Marching Songs, Volume 2. Steinberg -- whom you may also know from the Wind, the Cheepskates and his current duo, Tan Sleeve...and if you're like me, you may STILL regularly confuse him with Akron new waver Liam Sternberg, which I do at least once a year -- is a gifted pop songwriter. However, he's never happier than when taking a straightforward guitar-pop tune and layering it with found sound (these songs are linked by dialogue snippets from an old Hollywood film), ornate vocal arrangements like the contrapuntal overdubs on the brief, lovely "Gain Luster" and groovy neo-psychedelic arrangements with Indian percussion, harmonium-like drones and other bits of atmosphere. Sometimes it doesn't work -- the overstuffed faux-middle eastern pop-rock of "Jerichaio" would be twice as effective at half the length -- but most of The Return of Noel Coward's Ghost will appeal to those folks who wish Andy Partridge hadn't ever left the studio between 1982 and 1990.

--Stewart Mason


< BACK to LS