Billings Outlaws

Years of Existence: 2009-
Venues: Metra Park Arena (Billings, MT), SportsPlex Arena (Billings, MT)
2009 IFL Champions
2010 - IFL Champions
Lifetime Record: 30-4
Home: 21-0
Away: 9-4
Playoffs: 7-0
Average Attendance: 4,188

The Billings Outlaws joined the new IFL from the old UIF. Indoor football veteran Chris Dixon led the Outlaws to a 12-2 regular season record. He rushed for 12 scores and passed for 69 more, amassing just shy of 3,000 total yards. Veteran wide receivers James Walton and Robert Redd were Dixon's favorite targets, combining for 112 catches, 1,551 yards, and 48 scores. On defense, Mike Bazemore returned four fumbles for scores. The defense sacked opposing quarterbacks 35 times and gave up just 33 points per game. The Outlaws attempted to dispel any criticisms that the league championship would not be legitimate without the inclusion of the Sioux Falls Storm, by defeating the Storm in all three season meetings. This included winning in Sioux Falls, snapping a home win streak that stretched all the way back to 2005. Dixon added 15 more postseason touchdowns, as the Outlaws earned a first round bye before destroying Fairbanks, 50-7. The next opponent was a relatively unknown El Paso squad. Billings would crush the Generals 66-35. The team advanced to the inaugural IFL United Bowl and would host the surprise RiverCity Rage in front of 8,351 fans. The Rage kept the game close throughout the night, but two stops for the Outlaws compared to just one for the Rage, plus a missed extra point, would seal the championship victory for Billings, 71-62. The Outlaws returned in 2010 looking for a repeat. The team cruised to an 11-2 regular season record, with a six point loss at Sioux Falls and a one point loss in Kent being the only blemishes. The team also was awarded a forfeit victory by Alaska. Chris Dixon again led the team at quarterback, this time throwing for 63 touchdowns and seven interceptions in the regular season. He added a mere three picks in four postseason games. Dixon ran for another 12 touchdowns. James Walton led all wide receivers with 730 yards and 22 touchdowns, while DeAngelo Woodie and Antuan Bloom both caught 12 more. One day after the team's final home victory against Tri-Cities, a tornado touched down and destroyed MetraPark Arena. Almost 3,800 fans had attended the game the night before, but luckily no one was hurt in the disaster. The Outlaws are the only team to have built their own practice facility, which became the site of three playoff games and the United Bowl. On one week's notice, the team was able to paint its field, bring bleachers in, and eventually seat just over 2,000 fans for the championship game. The first postseason contest was against Tri-Cities. This time, the Fever hung tough, but the Outlaws pulled away late 54-45. Billings then surged past San Angelo, 68-39, and then defeated Arkansas in the Intense Conference championship game, 53-42. The Outlaws would face off with the Sioux Falls Storm for the sixth United Bowl game. The game was what fans had wanted to see the previous year, but Sioux Falls' off-field violations cost them a playoff berth. Billings took a 28-27 halftime lead and was able to hold the Storm to no fourth quarter points en rout to a 43-34 victory, winning back-to-back titles and dealing Sioux Falls its first postseason loss since 2004.