Spokane Shock

Years of Existence: 2010-
Venue: Spokane Veterans Arena (Spokane, WA)
2010 - AFL Champions
2011 - Playoff appearance
2012 -
2013 - Semifinal appearance
2014 - Playoff appearance
2015 - Playoff appearance
Lifetime Record: 68-46
Home: 39-18
Away: 29-28
Playoffs: 4-4
Average Attendance: 8,388

The Spokane Shock joined the revamped AFL after winning the af2 championship in 2009. The team continued its success behind QB Kyle Rowley, who threw for 100 touchdowns to 11 interceptions in the regular season. Raul Vijil led the team in receptions and touchdowns, with 33, until going down with a season ending injury in week 10. The team did not miss a beat, though, as Huey Whittaker became the favorite target, ending up with 144 catches and 37 scores. The defense forced 20 fumbles special teams accounted for six kickoff returns for touchdowns. As the regular season wound down, Jacksonville blasted the Shock in Florida, 64-49. Many expected this game to be played again as the Arena Bowl title, but Jacksonville was knocked out in the first round by Orlando. Spokane, meanwhile, surged past Arizona and Milwaukee, as Rowley did not throw any postseason interceptions to go with his 23 touchdowns. Spokane hosted Arena Bowl XXIII against Tampa Bay. After a slow first quarter, Spokane jumped out to a 34-28 halftime lead after the teams combined to score four times in the final minute of the first half. The Shock went up 48-28 in the third and never looked back, taking home the AFL title 69-57. Kyle Rowley started the 2011 season for the Shock, but was benched midway through the season. However, his replacements were injured, so Rowley ended up playing in 14 Shock games, throwing for 3,322 yards, 78 touchdowns nad 15 picks. Greg Orton was the team's only 1,000 yard receiver, catching 112 balls for 1,484 yards and 34 scores. Six of the team's nine losses came by ten points or less, as the Shock allowed almost as many points as they scored. The team was able to rally from a 1-4 early season start to finish at 9-9 and qualify for the playoffs. but the high powered offense was shut down by Arizona in the first round of the playoffs, 62-33. Kyle Rowley again led the Shock in 2012, throwing for 4,349 yards, 96 touchdowns and 23 picks. Adron Tennell was on the receiving end of 1,810 yards and 40 touchdowns. Rowley set an AFL record with 12 passing touchdowns in a 90-63 victory against San Jose. Despite a 10-8 record, Spokane did not make the playoffs. The franchise got its 100th victory at Kansas City, 49-48. The Shock returned in 2013 with Erik Meyer quarterbacking the season. He passed for 4,667 yards, 112 touchdowns and a mere eleven interceptions. His top targets were Adron Tennell, Kamar Jorden, and Brandon Thomplins. Tennell brought in 1,792 yards and 49 scores, while Jorden racked up 1,087 yards and 26 touchdowns. Terrance Sanders and Paul Stephens combined to intercept 19 balls, returning three each for touchdowns. The offensive line was great all season long, allowing just 14 sacks of Meyer. The team played five of its first seven games on the road, going 5-2 and crushing Arizona by 17 points. back to back to back losses to Tampa Bay, Utah, and Orlando were very surprising, but the Shock recovered for a 14-4 regular season finish and playoff berth. Due to issues with the Chicago franchise, Spokane hosted a Thursday night playoff game against the Rush, defeating them 69-47 and earning a trip to top-seeded Arizona for the National Conference championship. The Shock led 35-21 in the second quarter in front of a shocked Rattlers crowd. However, Nick Davila, who had been nursing a throwing arm injury, led Arizona on a 44-7 run. The Shock tried to rally in the final minute, but were unable to recover a second onside kick. The Shock fell short 65-57. The 2014 season saw Erik Meyer back in the saddle for Spokane, until a broken collar bone kept him out for six weeks. All in all, he threw for 2,519 yards, 54 touchdowns and nine interceptions. He also ran for 20 scores. His six-week replacement was Brian Zbydniewski, who tossed 17 touchdowns and eight picks. Mike Washington was the lone 1,000 yard receiver, hauling in 23 touchdowns and 1,356 yards on 106 catches. Rashaad Carter brought in 17 scores of his own, while Shock veteran Adron Tennell tacked on fourteen more. Terran Sanders led the defense with eleven interceptions, returning three for touchdowns. On the field, the Shock went 11-7, winning their last five games to get into the playoffs as the third seed. They traveld to San Jose where they were soundly defeated 55-28, trailing 31-0 at one point. The 2015 Shock went 7-11 on their regular season campaign, but did make the playoffs once again. Three quarterbacks split time: Warren Smith, Arvell Nelson, and Carson Coffman. They combined to pass for 77 touchdowns, 22 picks, and 4,300 yards. Anthony Amos was the only 1,000 yard receiver, but Nick Truesdell brought in 23 touchdowns to lead the pack in scoring. Despite scoring a regular season upset against the Rattlers at home, the Shock could not repeat on the road in the playoffs, falling 72-41.