Detroit Drive

Years of Existence: 1988-1993
Venue: Venues: Joe Louis Arena (Detroit, MI)
1988 – AFL Champions
1989 - AFL Champions
1990 - AFL Champions
1991 - Championship game appearance
1992 - AFL Champions
1993 - Championship game appearance
Lifetime Record: 58-12
Home: 31-8
Away: 27-4
Playoffs: 12-2
Average Attendance: 14,438

The Detroit Drive was one of the most successful franchises in AFL history. The Drive could be called the first-ever AFL dynasty, as they would win four championships in six seasons. In 1988, The Drive motored to a 9-3 regular season record and won the Arena Bowl on the road at Chicago, 24-13. In 1989, the Drive would win the Arena Bowl at home, with a 39-26 victory over the Pittsburgh Gladiators. The next year, the Drive would win their third championship in a row, with a drubbing of Dallas, 51-27. 1991 would mark the Drive’s first non-championship year, as they would go down to Tampa Bay by six points. 1992 marked a return to greatness. Following an 8-2 season, the Drive beat Orlando 56-38 on the road for championship number four. In their final season, the Drive cruised to a 11-1 regular season, but got pounded by the Tampa Bay Storm, 51-31. Following the 1993 season, the Drive franchise moved to Massachusetts and became the Minutemen. They would last for only one year. Arena football returned to Detroit in 2001, but only lasted through the 2004 season.