Albums - Not Shy (1978)

Tracks     Album Details    Back to Discography

Not Shy

Originally released in 1978 by Columbia Records, this is of course the album that yielded Walter Egan's biggest hit, "Magnet and Steel." Not Shy is Egan's second official solo album. It was produced by Lindsey Buckingham, Richard Dashut, and Walter Egan and on several tracks features backing vocals by Lindsey Buckingham and/or Stevie Nicks of Fleetwood Mac.

Not Shy has been re-released on compact disc twice. The first cd release is dated 1993 and was distributed by Razor and Tie Music Corp. In 2004, the album was again re-released on compact disc as a two-in-one compilation with Fundamental Roll on Acadia/Evangeline records.

If you would like to purchase this cd, it is available at

Although this is not my favorite of Egan's solo albums (for that, see Walternative), it is an undeniably great album and contains several of my top favorite tracks. "Magnet and Steel" is of course one of those tracks, but other favorites include "Unloved" (which is a hopelessly addictive little ditty) and "Just the Wanting,"

Download "Magnet and Steel" from!
Click Here

Sweet South Breeze
2. Magnet and Steel
3. Finally Find a Girlfriend
4. The Blonde in the Blue T-Bird
5. Star in the Dust
6. I Wannit
7. Make It Alone
8. Unloved - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 615K)
9. Just the Wanting - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 610K)
10. Hot Summer Nights

Album Details:

Copyright 1978, Sony Music Entertainment, Inc.

All music and lyrics by Walter Egan.

Produced by Lindsey Buckingham, Richard Dashut, and Walter Egan for Swell Sounds Inc. & Contemporary Communications Inc.

Engineered by Richard Dashut & Lindsey Buckingham
Second Engineers: Tori Swenson, Terry Becker, & Edward Schaff

Direction: Greg Lewerke, David Krebs and Steve Leber

Recorded at Sound City, Van Nuys, Calif. August 1977 & The Village Recorder, Los Angeles, October 1977.

Mick Fleetwood, Stevie Nicks & Lindsey Buckingham appear thanks to the courtesy of Penguin Promotions Inc., Seedy Management, and Warner Bros. Records Inc.


Annie McLoone: background vocals
John Selk: bass, background vocals
Mike Huey: drums, percussion, syndrums
Tom Moncrieff: guitars, background vocals
Steve Hague: keyboards, background vocals

Guest Appearances:

Lindsey Buckingham: acoustic and electric guitars, background vocals on "Magnet and Steel" (album notes list this contribution as John Selk, but WE insists it's Buckingham), "Make It Alone," "Unloved," and "Hot Summer Nights"

Stevie Nicks: background vocals on "Magnet and Steel," "Finally Find a Girlfriend," "Star in the Dust," "The Blonde in the Blue T-Bird," and "Just the Wanting"

Mick Fleetwood: drums on "Star in the Dust" and "Make It Alone."

John Zambetti, M.D. and Earl Shackleford: background vocals on "Hot Summer Nights"

Dean Torrence: background vocals on "The Blonde in the Blue T-Bird"

Go Back

Fundamental Roll & Not Shy Cd Rerelease (2004)
Album Discography