Albums - The Meaning of Live (2004)

Tracks     Album Details    Back to Discography

The Meaning of Live

Originally recorded on the 1978 tour for Not Shy and released on compact disc from Red Steel Music in 2004, this is the only official Walter Egan Live album. With this record, Walter proves that he sounds just as good onstage as in the studio and every performance is strong and stays true to the original recordings.

In terms of the song choices, there aren't many surprises here. Fourteen of the nineteen songs are from Fundamental Roll and Not Shy. Of the remaining five, one - "Bad News T.F." - would later appear on his third solo album Hi-Fi. Another, "Sisters of the Moon," was written by Stevie Nicks of Fleetwood Mac (though it's interesting to note that this live version was recorded before Fleetwood Mac's Tusk album was released) and "Back in the U.S.A." was written by Chuck Berry, while another - "Tonight" - isn't an Egan song at all. It is by Annie McLoone and Egan only provides guitar and backing vocals on the track. (Mick Fleetwood's band The Zoo, covered "Tonight" on their 1983 album I'm Not Me and Annie McLoone covered Fleetwood Mac's "Spare Me A Little of Your Love" on her solo album, Fast Annie). Annie McLoone also sings lead on "Sing On," though it was written by Egan.

Another interesting thing to note about this album is that the liner notes include excerpts from Walter's tour diary - many of which mention Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks, as well as Tom Petty, Dave Mason, Bob Welch, and others.

Sweet South Breeze
2. Bad News T.F.
3. Waitin'
4. I Wannit
5. I'd Rather Have Fun
6. When I Get My Wheels
7. Introductions (Walter introduces the band)
8. Tonight (Annie McLoone)
9. Star in the Dust
10. Make It Alone
11. Sing On
12. Only the Lucky
13. Tunnel O'Love
14. Magnet and Steel
15. Finally Find a Girlfriend
16. Surfin' and Drivin'
17. Hot Summer Nights
18. Sisters of the Moon - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 636K)
19. Back in the U.S.A. - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 599K)

Album Details:

Red Steel Music, 2004

Recorded during the 1978 Not Shy tour.

Album mixed, mastered and recovered by Robert M. Corich and Mike Brown January 2002 at Lansdowne Stuidos, London, UK.
Produced by Walter Egan and Robert M. Corich

All photos courtesy Walter Egan archives.
Artwork copyright Red Steel Music.
Design: Hugh Gilmour at

The Cast of Characters:

Greg Lewerke: Personal Manager
Leber&Krebs: Co-Management
Steve Dodson: Tour Manager
Matt Sheppard: Asst. Tour Manager
Bob "Norton" Thompson: Equipment
Ross Norton: Equipment

The Professional Band:

Walter Egan: guitar, vocals
John Selk: bass, vocals
Mike Huey: drums
Skip Edwards: keyboards, vocals
Tom Moncrieff: guitar, vocals
Annie McLoone: vocals and toys

Go Back

Album Discography