Albums - Malibooz Yule: A Malibu Kind of Christmas (1992)

Tracks     Album Details    Back to Malibooz Discography

Malibooz Yule - A Malibu Kind Of Christmas

Released on compact disc in 1992 by Iloki Records.

As the title suggests, Malibooz Yule is a Christmas album. This is the second official Malibooz album and, though more than a decade had passed, it carries on the great sense of fun and humor that was found in its predecessor Malibooz Rule!.

Although this album usually only comes off the shelf during the twelfth month of the year, I do enjoy it. Favorite tracks are "Santa Drives a Super Stock Dodge" (with its reference to Jan and Dean's "Little Old Lady from Pasadena), "And a Happy New Year," "A Quiet Little Christmas," "Christmastide," and "Carol of the Swells."

Santa Drives a Super Stock Dodge - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 618K)
2. Little Surfin' Drummer Boy (instrumental)
3. And a Happy New Year
4. It's Just Not Christmas
5. Santa Man
6. Malibu Kind of Christmas
7. A Quiet Little Christmas
8. When Santa Comes to Santa Cruz
9. Carol of the Swells (instrumental) - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 609K)
10. Christmastide
11. Rudy
12. Our Christmas Wish For You
13. Seashells and Coral
14. Christmas Wrap - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 617K)

Album Details:

Iloki Records, 1992

Recorded at Nileland Studio, Malibu, California, U.S.A.
"Malibu Kind of Christmas" and "Little Surfin' Drummer Boy" previously released on Pier Group Records

Produced by Walter Egan and John Zambetti
Engineered by Michael Nile and Neale Heywood

Typesetting and design by Jenny Soup
Illustrations by Kalynn Campbell
Cover Photography by Scott Smith
Cover Photo shot at Paradise Cove, Malibu, CA
Surfboard courtesy of Michael Glazer Collection
Wetsuit courtesy of Jackson Browne
Spiritual Advisor: Chris Murray

Tracks 3, 5, 7, 10, and 14 written by Walter Egan, Walter Lindsay Egan Music (ASCAP)
Tracks 1, 4, 6, 8, 9, 12, and 13 written by John Zambetti, Malibooz Music (ASCAP), Admitted by All Nations Music (ASCAP)
"Rudy" - music by Johnny Marks, lyrics by Walter Egan, St. Nicholas Music
"Little Surfin' Drummer Boy" - Harry Simeone, Henry Oroatti, Katherine K. David, Chappell & Co. (ASCAP)

The Malibooz are:

John Zambetti: vocals, guitar, percussion
Walter Egan: vocals, guitar, bass, percussion
Ted Zambetti: drums, percussion
Scott Monahan: keyboards, vocals
Tom Moncrieff: bass

Guest Malibooz also are:

Dean Torrence: vocals
David Woodford: saxes
Dave Chamberlain: bass
Mike Nile: e-mu
Joan Zambetti: spoken vocal

And the Junior Lifeguards:

Walt Egan, Jr.
Kathryn Zambetti
Johnny Zambetti IV
Jimmy Oppenheimer
Sean Oppenheimer
Aaron Haywood
David Murray

Go Back

The Malibooz Discography
Album Discography