Albums - Living Water (The Surfer's Mass) (1999)

Tracks     Album Details    Back to Malibooz Discography

Living Water (The Surfer's Mass)

This is the third official Malibooz album and was released in 1999 by The Pier Group.

Although Walter Egan contributed production, guitar, and vocals to this project, the album is really John Zambetti's baby. All twelve songs on the disc are either his original songs or are arangements of traditional hymns, and the concept of the album itself is also his doing.

Here's what he had to say about the project (from cd insert):

One Sunday morning, while backing up our church choir on guitar, my mind began to wander. You can see the ocean from where I sit and as I looked out at the waves, it occurred to me what a contemplative image the ocean is. Whenever I look at the ocean I hear surf music so I decided to arrange some of the Mass prayers surf style. People really responded to it so I demoed some of the tunes. When people heard the demos they started coming to me with more ideas. The ideas came from people of all ages. The project started to take on a life of its own. The more tunes I recorded, the more new ideas it elicited from people, and the more inspiration I got for the tunes. Finally, I took it to the band and here's what we came up with. I hope it inspires some tunes in your life.

-J.Z., Surfrider Beach, Malibu, 1999

Benedicite - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 594K)
2. Kyrie
3. Gloria
4. Bitter Water
5. Alleluia
6. Crest, Then Broken (instrumental) - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 604K)
7. Holy, Holy
8. Doxology/Amen
9. Lamb of God
10. Summer Wind
11. Caught a Wave
12. Benedicite (reprise)

Album Details:

The Pier Group, 1999

Produced by John Zambetti and Walter Egan
Engineer: Neale Heywood

Recorded and Mixed at Triad Studios, Los Angeles, CA
All songs (C) 1999 John Zambetti
(P) 1999 Malibooz Music

Cover photo: Anthony Friedkin
Inner sleeve photo and back cover photo: Roxanne McCann
Tray photo: Debbie Campbell
Art Direction: Ria Lewerke
Additional Art: Jim Rasfeld

The Malibooz are:

Walter Egan: guitar, vocals
John Zambetti: guitar, vocals
Scott Monahan: keyboards, vocals
Dave Chamberlain: bass
Teddy Zambetti: drums

Additional guitar on "Alleluia" by Johnny Zambetti, Jr.

Go Back

The Malibooz Discography
Album Discography