Albums - Fundamental Roll (1977)

Tracks     Album Details    Back to Discography

Fundamental Roll

Originally released in 1977 by Columbia Records, this is Walter Egan's solo debut. Co-Produced with Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks, the pair's influence and contributions are very much apparent throughout the album.

Indeed, Lindsey Buckingham and/or Stevie Nicks contributed backing vocals to ten of the eleven tracks (all but "She's So Tough") and Buckingham also plays acoustic or electric guitar on several of them as well. Fundamental Roll has been described as "essential for fans of the Buckingham/Nicks version of Fleetwood Mac" and it certainly is but, more than that, it is essential for any fan of great California rock (nevermind that Egan is a New York native). The songs are a wonderful mix of rock 'n' roll and sunny pop, blended perfectly with just a hint of folk music.

Thematically, the songs of Fundamental Roll adhere to Egan's surf roots. You won't find much in the way of depth and introspection, but you will find a collection of great catchy tunes about love, good times, fast cars, and sex. Personal favorites are "Tunnel O'Love," "Feel So Good," and "I'd Rather Have Fun."

After being out of print for many years, Fundamental Roll is finally available on compact disc! In 2004, Acadia/Evangeline Records rereleased it as a double-length disc with its follow-up 1978's Not Shy.

If you would like to purchase this cd, it is available at

Download "Lovin' You," a previously unreleased Fundamental Roll outtake at!
Click Here!

Only the Lucky
2. Won't You Say You Will
3. Waitin'
4. Feel So Good - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 592K)
5. Yes I Guess I Am
6. When I Get My Wheels
7. Where's the Party? - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 585K)
8. She's So Tough
9. Tunnel O'Love - Listen to a sample! (sample approx. 1 min long, 596K)
10. I'd Rather Have Fun
11. Surfin' & Drivin'

Outtake (available for download at
Lovin' You

Album Details:

Copyright 1977, CBS, Inc.

All Music and Lyrics by Walter Lindsay Egan except "Surfin' and Drivin'" which is by Walter Lindsay Egan & John Zambetti

All tunes published by Deluxe Music, Swell Sounds Music & Seldak Music Corp. (ASCAP) except for "Surfin' and Drivin'" which is Malibooz Music Inc. and Delux Music (ASCAP)

Produced by Lindsey Buckingham, Stevie Nicks, Duane Scott & Walter Egan for Swell Sounds Inc. & Contemporary Communications Inc.

Recorded at Sound City, Van Nuys, Calif. from June to November 1976.

Engineer: Duane Scott
Assistant Engineer: Tori Swenson
Direction: Greg Lewerke, David Krebs & Steve Leber

Stevie Nicks & Lindsey Buckingham appear pursuant to the courtesy of Penguin Promotions Inc. and Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Dean Torrence appears through the courtesy of Kittyhawk Graphics

Drums: John Ware (Tracks 1-3,6, 8-10), Dennis Mansfield (Tracks 4, 5, 7, 11)
Bass: John Selk
Keyboards: Bill Cuomo
Acoustic Guitar: Walter Egan (Tracks 1, 4-6), Lindsey Buckingham (Tracks 1 & 2), John Zambetti (Track 6)
Electric Guitar: Walter Egan (All tracks. 2nd solo track 5, 1st solo track 7, all solos track 8, 1st solo track 10),
   Lindsey Buckingham (Tracks 3, 9 and 10, solo track 4, 1st solo track 5, 2nd solo track 7), Gary Rowles (Track 9),
    John Zambetti (Track 11)
Background Vocals: Lindsey Buckingham (Tracks 1-3, 6, 7, 10, 11), Stevie Nicks (Tracks 1, 2, 4-6, 9), Dean Torrence (Track 8),
    John Zambetti (Track 11)
Slide Guitar: Gary Rowles (Track 3)
The Box: Walter Egan (Track 4)
Sleigh Bells: Lindsey Buckingham (Track 4)

Go Back

Fundamental Roll & Not Shy CD Rerelease (2004)
Album Discography