Lindsey Buckingham: Songs From The Small Machine - Live In L.A. - 2011 (Not Rated)


Year of Release: 2011
Rated: Not Rated
Director: James Yukich
Approx. Running Time: 142 minutes
Format(s): DVD/CD Combo Pack
My Rating: 4 stars (Out of 5)

From Back Cover:


1. Shut Us Down
2. Go Insane*
3. Trouble
4. Never Going Back Again
5. Big Love
6. Under The Skin
7. All My Sorrows
8. In Our Own Time
9. Illumination
10. Second Hand News
11. Tusk
12. Stars Are Crazy
13. End Of Time
14. That's The Way Love Goes
15. I'm So Afraid
16. Go Your Own Way
17. Turn It On*
18. Treason*
19. Seeds We Sow

       * do not appear on CD

BONUS FEATURE: Interview with Lindsey Buckingham

Filmed at an exclusive show at the Saban Theater in Beverly Hills in April this year, "Songs From The Small Machine" captures Lindsey Buckingham showcasing tracks from his new studio album "Seeds We Sow," songs from across his solo career and Fleetwood Mac classics. His distinctive guitar picking style and instantly recognizable voice are joined to his dynamic on stage presence to deliver a show that brings the audience to their feet and leaves them calling for more. Starting with five solo acoustic performances, Lindsey is then joined by his band to rock their way through the res of the set before a final acoustic encore of "Seeds We Sow" brings a perfect evening to an end.

My Comments:

I had the distinct pleasure of actually attending this concert at the Saban Theater in Beverly Hills (April 22, 2011). It was recorded as a showcase for the music from his then upcoming solo album Seeds We Sow, and also a last-ditch effort to find a record company to release the album. Ultimately, he ended self-releasing it and it didn't garner quite the critical acclaim or fan love that his previous releases earned him, but in my opinion it is a very strong effort and I highly recommend it.

But regardless of how you might feel about Seeds We Sow the album, I don't think it can really be denied that this live performance is just as awe-inspiring as any other previous DVD release.

Go Back:

Not Rated (MPAA)
4 Stars
Main Index