[Colored Lights: The Broadway Album]

"Colored Lights: The Broadway Album"
Fynsworth Alley (302 062 195 2)
Release Date: November 4, 2003

Colored Lights: The Broadway Album is Deborah Gibson's eighth studio album. As the title indicates, Deborah decided to record an album of songs of Broadway material (twelve covers, plus an original song, "Sex" (from Skirts, a musical Deborah is a composer and lyricist on)). While initial promotion hearlded the album as "bridging pop and Broadway," the album ultimately sounds like a Broadway recording. However, Deborah's vocal performance is superb on the album (and I feel it's some of the best vocals she's ever put onto a recording).

The strongest track on Colored Lights is "Anytime (I Am There)" from Elegies: A Song Cycle. In the song, the character is dying, and is telling their child that someday, even after they have died, they will be watching over the child as they grow; it's a sad subject, yet it's written with an uplifting tone, and Deborah's vocal performance conveys the emotion behind the song. "Raise The Roof!" (from The Wild Party) is another personal favorite. It's a very upbeat song, and it just sounds like it's begging to be remixed for the dance clubs. Other highlights on the album include "They All Laughed" (from Shall We Dance?), "Sex," and "I'd Rather Leave While I'm In Love" (from The Boy From Oz).

Even though Colored Lights has a Broadway sound to it, this doesn't make it a bad album. However, it may not be an enjoyable listen for people who don't have much appreciation for musical theater.

(reviewed by Lesley Muir on November 29, 2003)

Deborah Gibson
Colored Lights: The Broadway Album
Fynsworth Alley (302 062 195 2)
  • Let Me Entertain You (from Gypsy)
  • Blame It On The Summer Night (from Rags)
  • Raise The Roof! (from The Wild Party)
  • I'd Rather Leave While I'm In Love (from The Boy From Oz)
  • On My Own (from Les Miserables)
  • Colored Lights (from The Rink)
  • I'm The Greatest Star (from Funny Girl)
  • Who Are You Now? (from Funny Girl)
  • They All Laughed (from Shall We Dance?)
  • Sex (from Skirts)
  • Maybe This Time (from Cabaret)
  • I Enjoy Being A Girl (from Flower Drum Song)
  • Anytime (I Am There) (from Elegies: A Song Cycle)

"Let Me Entertain You" written by Stephen Sondheim and Jule Styne
"Blame It On The Summer Night" written by Stephen Schwartz and Charles Strouse
"Raise The Roof!" written by Andrew Lippa
"I'd Rather Leave While I'm In Love" written by Carole Bayer-Sager and Peter Allen
"On My Own" written by Alain Boublil and Claude-Michel Schonberg
"Colored Lights" and "Maybe This Time" written by John Kander and Fred Ebb
"I'm The Greatest Star" and "Who Are You Now?" written by Robert Merrill and Jule Styne
"They All Laughed" written by George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin
"Sex" written by Deborah Gibson
"I Enjoy Being A Girl" written by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II
"Anytime (I Am There)" written by William Finn

All songs on this disc produced by William Meade and Deborah Gibson
Review © 2003 Lesley Muir Aeschliman
Site hosted by Angelfire.com: Build your free website today!